• Rise from your gwave!

21 pin model 1

Discussion in 'Saturn' started by Gallstaff, May 20, 2002.

1. Gallstaff

Gallstaff Member

Ok, i dont want to get my hopes up but i'm pretty sure i have a 21 pin model 1 sega saturn. I opened it up and i just want to make sure i'm counting the right pins. Say i'm looking at the saturn from the front facing me. The ribbon to the right, do i count the pins which connect that ribbon to the cd board? If not, what pins do i count. If i do count those... then i have 21 pins.

2. Arakon

Arakon New Member

the ribbon cable going from the CD unit to the MB. also make sure you compare your board/chip layout to the install instructions first, chances are that you might not find proper instructions for this type.. better be safe than sorry.

3. Gallstaff

Gallstaff Member

I know but which ribbon. I'm not good with this i'm gonna get a friend to solder it. The ribbon in the front right or the ribbon in the back?

4. Gallstaff

Gallstaff Member

Ok i'm pretty sure it's 21 pin. I just wanna make sure, you count the pins on the left side of the ribbon cable in this picture down in the bottom right hand corner. right?

http://www.playthegames.com/satmodstep3.html

5. Arakon

Arakon New Member

on that page, the ribbon shown in the last pic. either side will work for counting, since it's a 1:1 cable.

6. Gallstaff

Gallstaff Member

well i dunno if mine is the same. It's kinda weird. the ribbon cable is sorta folded over and taped with a piece of yellow thin-clear tape. I'm pretty sure it came that way when bought. but any way, what side, if it's not a v saturn like that, would you use for counting?

7. Arakon

Arakon New Member

it's still the same cable, and it still doesn't matter which side you count.

8. Gallstaff

Gallstaff Member

WOO 21 PIN SATURN MODEL 1! TAKE THAT DERBY SATURN, YOU DON'T GOT NOTHIN' ON THIS!

9. Gallstaff

Gallstaff Member