How To Fix Master System 3D Glasses

What a deal!

I was at half price and noticed they had some master system games, and thought to myself, hmm, I wonder if they got a console traded in. But didn't think too much of it (I already have a powerbase converter).

When I was looking through the display case of systems, I noticed in fact there was a master system at the top. 25$, not bad, but not cheap enough to buy to resell. But I kept reading on. "Complete, with power, A/V, 1 Controller, and ***3D GLASSES***" [emphasis added]. I was like no way. I've had the 3D glasses on my want list for years and still haven't managed to find one (well excluding e-bay).

Actually I'm rather disappointed, I just looked on e-bay and despite its incredible rarity in the physical world, it doesn't seem to command that high of price on e-bay. But 25$ is still a good price just for the glasses, plus I got a master system too.

The power supply that came with it was a radio shack replacement that actually is the wrong polarity so it won't work, but I'm just gonna cross the wires to reverse the polarity.

Ok On with the show. When I tried out the glasses, only the right shutter was working; the left shutter remained open.

First I thought it was the glasses that were broke, since there was a crack in the plastic. To test that out, I pulled out my ASUS 3-D glasses from my ASUS V3800 video card (GeForce (1) 32mb card with video capture, video out, and 3D glasses. I still use this video card because they don't made cards with 3D glasses anymore, and it plays all the good stuff (Jedi Knight, X-Wing, etc) just fine).

Those glasses are the same stereo mini-plug, so it should work with the master system too. Well it has the same issue, so I figured it must be the adapter.

So I opened up the adapter, and sure enough the 3rd prong on the stereo connecter was popped up, so it wouldn't make contact with the plug.