Building the most expensive PC EVAR!

ratfish

Established Member
I want to build a high-performance PC, maxed out with the most powerfull sound card, video card, and a hard drive over 100GB. It has to have at least 2 USB ports, one LPT/parallel, one serial/COMM port, one Ethernet port, and the standard mouse and keyboard ports.

I was looking at the new Athlon XP 64bit chip for the CPU. That looks like a good main processor. I'll have a Phoenix/Award BIOS probably. I think I'll max out the RAM (up to 1GB or whatever it takes).

Oh yes, and I'll need a 17" (at least) color TFT monitor. Manufacturer recommendations on this would help. I'd also like to have a sound card that supports MIDI in and out, or if I have to install a separate MIDI card for that, besides the main sound card, I can do that. I've never worked with MIDI on a PC before.

A new Bose surround sound system, supporting Dolby 5.1 would be nice too.

After I decide on all the parts, I'll start on case modding, get a case cutter, put in a window, a cigarette lighter, a CPU clocker/temp meter, bigass fan, cold cathodes, cup holder, etc.

This is a hypothetical project, I don't have the money to pay for all this stuff, just so you know.

Mainly, I'm just looking for suggestions. What would you put in, what's good, what's bad, etc.

Man, if you'll build a PC like you plan, don't show it to anyone, or they will decide you're a young gay computer enthusiast

Originally posted by dhau@Nov 20, 2003 @ 08:06 PM

Man, if you'll build a PC like you plan, don't show it to anyone, or they will decide you're a young gay computer enthusiast

Sounds like some one has problems accepting truth. :wub: pshaw

I guess I can try to hijack a 1TB drive from a big organization.

Man, I remember when I was in shock cause we got an 8mb hard drive, and you didn't have to put a disk in our pc to start it anymore.

Originally posted by Scared0o0Rabbit@Nov 21, 2003 @ 09:14 PM