Commercial GiriGiri now Abandonware.

And I'm not even sure that we (saturn emu authors) could use his help as he must have signed a NDA ...

What could possibly be better then the GiriGiri emulator for running Saturn games? How about a Windows XP optimized version that is smaller, faster and resource optimized. It has a partially rewritten core, updated code, improved sound, new tools, and updated documentation. Further, it now comes with its own installer and all the files needed to run it.

All you have to do is supply the game.

Grab it here:

www.barnitos.net/girihelp

Readme + Changelog:

www.barnitos.net/girihelp/readme.txt

Legal Disclaimer:

www.barnitos.net/girihelp/legal.txt

I'm not a lawyer, but I can say with some confidence that GiriGiri is probably still under copyright, whether held by Sega, Sammy, or Shinya Miyamoto himself. In today's world, about the only way for a legitimate copyright to become invalid is for the holder to explicitly and unambiguously announce that the work has been placed in the public domain. The Berne Convention requires all signatories - which includes virtually all industrialized nations except Taiwan - to provide a minimum copyright term of 50 years, without the requirement of registration or renewal. Until someone produces a formal, specific announcement regarding GiriGiri's status, it should be assumed to still be illegal to distribute.

I am done argueing this point, it is there in black and white, plain as day. We are now going to decrypt the exe and make it an open source project....

Barnito

Well that's nice, but err...don't you think "Sandi" from Sega tech support might not be the person with all the facts? The email does conclude with

"All Sega systems and Games remain protected."

I see no reason why a piece of software wouldn't be regarded as a system, especially when it's purpose it to act like a specific system.

Just sayin'...