Compiling C++ for the Saturn?

Hi all,

First off, thank you for all of your awesome work at keeping the Saturn alive :)

I’m hoping to write some stuff for the Saturn in C++. I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction as I’m a little lost!

I have about 5 years of hobbyist level experience in C++ and know nothing about C. I know Sega themselves don’t recommend C++ for the Saturn, but I wanted to try it out anyway :)

I have sh-elf-c++/g++ v9.2.0 as my compiler, but I’m unsure where to start. I know I can use C code and include C headers in C++ with ‘extern “C”’, but it doesn’t seem quite as simple as that? Do I need to do something special with my linker?

I would like to be able to use SGL and SBL. I’m not too interested in custom libraries/SDKs at this point.

Or do you think I’m just wasting my time and should go about learning C instead?

Thanks in advance for the pointers!

The basic syntax is virtually identical.
Whether C or C++, you wont have a lot of the basic code libraries because they weren't tested on Saturn.
C will also make s smaller binary, which is pretty important in the long run.
There's also no one else doing this.

So I guess the long and short of it from me is that C or C++ you will be learning "Saturn" and less learning "C" or using "C++".
But hey, maybe someone else knows how you can easily try it.

C++ works on saturn, you can find a working makefile & linker script on wolf3d for Saturn.

C++ works on saturn, you can find a working makefile & linker script on wolf3d for Saturn.

Thank you! That's excellent! That's a very good starting point :) I'll see how far I get. Interesting that they are using SDL too. I didn't know that was ported to the Saturn.

That is a very valid point that might make C++ unusable. I guess I'll do some experimentation and compare binary sizes.