complete newb to Saturn dev needing advice

Hi. I am a fairly experienced C/C++/x86 assembly developer, but I have only developed for PC's. I am very enthusiastic about trying to develop for the Saturn, but I have a couple of questions about the toolchain. Sorry if these things have been covered thousands of times, or if there is a tutorial out there somewhere I'm missing; most of the information I've found is broken and incomplete, also making me wonder about how up to date it is.

Here are my questions:

I prefer to use Linux systems...I can set up my toolchain for Saturn development on such a system, right?

What compiler do I need to generate code for the Saturn? Is it open-source, or will I be stuck with a maybe will/maybe won't work build? (I doubt the original saturn compiler was open source, but being that it's this day and age, thought I'd ask).

If it will be necessary for my to program in assembler for the Hitachi SH2 (those are the two main procs right?), can someone point me to a good source of information on the instruction set/architecture (I know I could find some of this with googling, but I'm looking for more of a technical doc that explains everything).

What other programs will I need to package the data together/create an iso? Is any of this open source? I would prefer to build everything myself if possible, as I know the original builds devs used for Saturn are probably ages old and incompatible with my system.

As I said, I'm sure this stuff has been covered countless times, so I'm sorry for asking! I've found assorted tutorials across the net, some of it attempting to answer some of these questions, but all of them already assume a fair amount of knowledge from the reader, and when it comes to Saturn development, I have none! Experienced developers out there, please take pity on me and help me into this community! I know absolutely nothing about Saturn programming and need someone to explain the basics of the development environment needs.