FBA WIP

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

vbt

Staff member
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
5,238
Points
63
Age
43
A new driver is in progress
There is not yet good results. I don't manage to get a correct bitmap rendering.
 

Attachments

Runik

Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Messages
889
Points
16
Age
42
Website
www.runik.info
vbt said:
A new driver is in progress
There is not yet good results. I don't manage to get a correct bitmap rendering.
Progress is good, even if the display is broken at first


Good work vbt !
 

vbt

Staff member
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
5,238
Points
63
Age
43
Runik said:
Progress is good, even if the display is broken at first


Good work vbt !
It's getting a bit better
 

Attachments

FacundoARG

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2009
Messages
49
Points
8
Age
34
, it's working. When I have more time for this, i will ask about how to reproduce a avi or cpk file.
 

vbt

Staff member
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
5,238
Points
63
Age
43
FacundoARG said:
, it's working. When I have more time for this, i will ask about how to reproduce a avi or cpk file.
Sure, you can ask, I think Madroms has biggest knowledge about making vids for Saturn.

Another new pictures :



 

cafe-alpha

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2005
Messages
519
Points
43
Location
Japan
Website
ppcenter.free.fr
vbt said:
What's wrong with this image ? (sorry for the stupid question, but I don't this game)

If there is a problem, don't hesitate to send me a binary, so that I can try to debug the VDP2 stuff in a similar way as I did in last December
 

vbt

Staff member
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
5,238
Points
63
Age
43
cafe-alpha said:
What's wrong with this image ? (sorry for the stupid question, but I don't this game)

If there is a problem, don't hesitate to send me a binary, so that I can try to debug the VDP2 stuff in a similar way as I did in last December
not much wrong inside this pic, in fact there is a sprite problem which hapenned on yabause and not on ssf. So, I finally decided to make a PAR release of System 1 (binary with rom inside) and here is the result on yabause :



on the left, CD version, there is a little problem with sprites

on the left, PAR version, the sprites look correct

There is something obvious here, the driver source code is the same, just the file loading is replaced. But the result is correct sprites and modified palettes. cafe-alpha, I'm sure you're the right guy to solve this mystery.
 

cafe-alpha

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2005
Messages
519
Points
43
Location
Japan
Website
ppcenter.free.fr
vbt said:
not much wrong inside this pic, in fact there is a sprite problem which hapenned on yabause and not on ssf. So, I finally decided to make a PAR release of System 1 (binary with rom inside) and here is the result on yabause :



on the left, CD version, there is a little problem with sprites

on the left, PAR version, the sprites look correct

There is something obvious here, the driver source code is the same, just the file loading is replaced. But the result is correct sprites and modified palettes. cafe-alpha, I'm sure you're the right guy to solve this mystery.
Can you send me both versions' binaries ?

Also, can you indicate me the way you use to load the data from CD ? (SBL, SGL, custom library, etc)

First, I will try on real hardware both versions, and see what happens ...

vbt said:
cafe-alpha, I'm sure you're the right guy to solve this mystery.
I will try do my best, but don't expect any guarantee I will actually solve this, nor any fast answer, etc ^^
 

cafe-alpha

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2005
Messages
519
Points
43
Location
Japan
Website
ppcenter.free.fr
I took a look at the data you sent me last Tuesday, and I could see that 7 registers values differ between the standalone and CDROM version.

Also, as VRAM contents seem to differ too, I need investigate a little further in order to see why display changes on CDROM version.
 

cafe-alpha

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2005
Messages
519
Points
43
Location
Japan
Website
ppcenter.free.fr
vbt said:
not much wrong inside this pic, in fact there is a sprite problem which hapenned on yabause and not on ssf. So, I finally decided to make a PAR release of System 1 (binary with rom inside) and here is the result on yabause :

http://freeebayimagehost.com/images/i62kdz4ptkfrq89g4f3l.jpg

on the left, CD version, there is a little problem with sprites

on the left, PAR version, the sprites look correct

There is something obvious here, the driver source code is the same, just the file loading is replaced. But the result is correct sprites and modified palettes. cafe-alpha, I'm sure you're the right guy to solve this mystery.
cafe-alpha said:
I took a look at the data you sent me last Tuesday, and I could see that 7 registers values differ between the standalone and CDROM version.

Also, as VRAM contents seem to differ too, I need investigate a little further in order to see why display changes on CDROM version.
Just before starting emaulation after selecting a ROM, can you set the registers above to the following values ? (a copy-paste in your source file should work fine)

Code:
(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F80028)) = 0x0C02; // CHCTLA

(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F80030)) = 0x3FFF; // PNCN0

(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F80032)) = 0x3FFF; // PNCN1

(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F80034)) = 0x3FFF; // PNCN2

(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F80042)) = 0x1F1A; // MPCDN0

(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F80046)) = 0x0115; // MPCDN1

(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F8004A)) = 0x0115; // MPCDN2
I am not sure it will work, so please can you tell me if the display is better ?
 

vbt

Staff member
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
5,238
Points
63
Age
43
cafe-alpha said:
Just before starting emaulation after selecting a ROM, can you set the registers above to the following values ? (a copy-paste in your source file should work fine)

Code:
(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F80028)) = 0x0C02; // CHCTLA

(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F80030)) = 0x3FFF; // PNCN0

(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F80032)) = 0x3FFF; // PNCN1

(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F80034)) = 0x3FFF; // PNCN2

(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F80042)) = 0x1F1A; // MPCDN0

(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F80046)) = 0x0115; // MPCDN1

(*(volatile unsigned short *)(0x25F8004A)) = 0x0115; // MPCDN2
I am not sure it will work, so please can you tell me if the display is better ?
sorry, i missed your post, i try it today
 

vbt

Staff member
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
5,238
Points
63
Age
43


Finally, colors look good, here are the changes :

  • background layer palettes 8x64 => 16x64 (with the help of SatCom)
  • foreground layer palettes 8x64 => 16x64
  • sprite palette 512 colors in CLUT (thanks to Antime)

so 2560 colors used !
 

vbt

Staff member
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
5,238
Points
63
Age
43
speed improvements :

- improved color conversion (thanks to Martin) + use of a precalculated lookup table

- foreground layer is rendered using the slave CPU





 

caius

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
5
Points
1
Age
44
vbt said:
one more :

Very good and promising!How is the speed on a real Saturn?What is the level of emulation (sound, sprite priority, etc..)?
 
Top