---------

POINT point_list[1] = { POStoFIXED(10.0, 10.0, 0.0); }

---------

But not

---------

POINT point_list[1];

point_list[0] = POStoFIXED(10.0, 10.0, 0.0);

---------

Performing the second example results in GCC giving me "parse error before { " on any line with POStoFIXED. I understand that POStoFIXED is just a macro that returns an array sequence, and I guess it doesn't make sense to do this:

point_list[0] = { 10.0, 10.0, 10.0 };

But, if I can't do that, that means I'll never be able to assign a new vector to any polygon with POStoFIXED; I'd have to do it with individual elements of the array (because point_list would actually be a multidimensional array, I guess...), and I know I'm kinda new to C, but...it just doesn't seem right that I can't assign a new vector to the array by index. Am I doing something wrong?

That syntax is legal only when initializing arrays/structs. Elsewhere you have to assign to each element separately or use a memcopy or similar.

New question, sorry if this is getting annoying. I know this has to be almost elementary...

On page 196 of the SGL Reference (not the actual manual), the PDATA (polygon model structure) has the following definition:

-------

typedef struct PDATA

{

POINT *pntb1

uint32 nbPoint;

POLYGON *pltb1

uint32 nbPolygon

ATTR *attbl1

}

-------

Whenever I try the following...

-------

PDATA model;

model.pntb1 = point_array;

-------

GCC says "structure has no member pntb1". ...Why would the structure have members in the Reference that I can't access here?

EDIT: checking the actual Manual, the 3D tutorials (page 48) in there don't use the members of PDATA, instead they treat assigning PDATA members like initializing an array (it would be a list of the objects in the above type defintion, rather than any actual members assigned). So...I guess the Reference goofed? Or maybe it's outdated...

Are you sure you don't mean the pltbl member?