HOWTO 2cpu

Concerning the 2 SH2, I am a newbie (I wish it was the only thing ;) ).

So, we got 2 CPU, and one of them is defined as "slave". I guess it is called so, because the master tell him what to do.

How does it run ?

1rst possibility : the DSP way.

The master and the slave both have a start address, defined somewhere very early. It says that the master starts at let's say 0x60000000 and the slave starts at, ... 0x60004000. When the master wants the slave to do something, it writes some real code at 0x60004000 ... et voilà. The slave has its very own code, and it keeps running it.

2nd possibility : the 2 CPU way.

This is the way I'd like the SH2s to run, but I guess it would be done by an OS. The CPUs have a bunch of job to be done. The first one that is ready takes the head of the jobs and runs it. Meanwhile, the second CPU takes the next job, and so on ... But I guess this way is not implementing.

3rd possibility : can not figure yet.

Has someone already played with 2 CPU's ?

How do they run ?

Isn't my DSP way a little bit simple-minded ?

On startup, only the master CPU runs, the slave has to be started manually. The CPU program position in memory is defined by the IP.BIN for both, master and slave.

Basically (all dual CPU samples of SBL, the SGL and my SGL replacement work similar) there is a small loop running on slave which is waiting for requests by the master.

Requests can be communicated using the FRT (Free Running Timer) or (the slower, memory traffic causing way) by cache-through reading a certain memory position (has been done in earlier SGL versions).

In SGL there is a function called slSlaveFunc(), with which you just submit a function to the slave joblist. Very easy to use.