Help Preserve Vintage Gaming Magazines!

racketboy

Established Member
Some of you may have read this thread. I have already started scanning some of my old gaming magazines and we have some availible to download very soon. There are also a couple other SX members who are planning to contribute as well.

With Iceman2K's help we will soon have a nice magazine archive to compliment our growing Soundtrack section.

Our goal is to scan every page (including ads) of the magazines that we can find at a good resolution, clean them up in Photoshop (or your choice of software) and convert them to PDFs.

If you have magazines, but can't scan them yourself, post them on here and see if someone will take care of them for you.

Im not really good at scaning, but I have been asked to scan 1 magazine, which I will do at some point. If the result is crap can I send the origonal jpegs to someone to touch up on photoshop?

Hmm, well, Garbage In, Garbage Out as the saying goes. It's pretty hard to touch up a bad scan- you can usually color correct it to some semblance of normalcy, sharpen it, and clean out the chunks and dust, but that's about as far as you're going to get.

Originally posted by finty101@Jun 29, 2004 @ 09:33 PM

Im not really good at scaning, but I have been asked to scan 1 magazine, which I will do at some point. If the result is crap can I send the origonal jpegs to someone to touch up on photoshop?

I can touch it up

Usually the things I touch up are:

tears/creases

make the edges clean

adjust brightness and contrast to get to make whites and black be what they should be and get rid of bleed from back page

Right now all I'd be able to do is make .pdf files. My scanner won't work on Win 2000/XP. If I can make a scanning rig out of a laptop, that isn't unbearably slow, I might be able to do this for you.

Will this just be Sega Mags?