4mb Cart how does it work

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

galvatron

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2001
Messages
13
Points
1
Website
Visit site
Hi all, i recently purchased a Action Booster Pack 4mb Plus cart, for x-men vs sf & others, but it does not reconise it is there, i have a uk model 2 saturn, is there anything special i need to do, or is the cart just broken, have tried switch both ways????????????
 

mal

Member
Joined
May 14, 2001
Messages
7,123
Points
36
Age
45
Website
Visit site
How do you mean that it does not recognise it is there?

Is there no Action Replay menu when you boot up?

If so this sounds like the problem megametalgreymon was having.

-####, can't find the thread
 

megametalgreymon

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Messages
705
Points
16
Age
37
Website
Visit site
exactly the same problem as im having

maybe uk customs fried the carts?

has anyone else actually used these carts from liksang? and if so do they get a menu or anything?
 

megametalgreymon

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Messages
705
Points
16
Age
37
Website
Visit site
have you tried with the switch in both positions?

mine appears to work for teritory lockout, i havent been able to try the ram cart function, and there doesnt appear to be any save ram function, since nothing is shown in the memeory manager screen
 

galvatron

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2001
Messages
13
Points
1
Website
Visit site
tried both ways no luck, the memory manager is actually in the action replay screen, in which you can save there???
 

mal

Member
Joined
May 14, 2001
Messages
7,123
Points
36
Age
45
Website
Visit site
A switch?

I was under the impression that this was just an AR clone, but it has switch. What is it meant to do?

If the cart's menu is the same as an AR's, you still save to the Saturn's internal RAM, but can copy back and forth to/from the cart.
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
38
mal: The switch on an AR (never seen an original Saturn AR, I'm speaking of AR hardware in general) is usually used to control whether or not patched values are written to RAM, but depending on how the software is written, a switch could be used to control pretty much anything.

megametalgreymon: from what I've seen of AR-style hardware, if your cart is working for territory lockout, then it should be working for any onboard memory manager or cheat code interface too. Just having territory lockout working is pretty strange (assuming that there actually is other stuff on the cart).
 

mal

Member
Joined
May 14, 2001
Messages
7,123
Points
36
Age
45
Website
Visit site
ExCyber: is the switch a physical hardware or software thing? I'm assuming it's physical.

My two carts, an AR+ and an AR4M have no switches.

Any patching is done via the cheats menu at start up.

Try as I may, I can't find anything else out about this cart on the 'net.
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
38
I'm talking about a physical switch on the unit, readable by software.

As for finding out what functions the cart actually has, I'd certainly like to take a look at the firmware of the cartridge in question, but to dump it might be a bit of work since it has no commslink port. The only way I can think of to do it without building hardware or desoldering the ROM is to write a program that dumps it to a Saturn save file, then use the AR4M Plus to transfer that save file to PC (though at the moment I can't remember if the AR4M Plus even supports this... :( ). The actual program of the AR4M Plus (including graphics) is only about 64KB, so at worst I think it would only be necessary to run the program a few times.
 

Prosolis

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
2
Points
1
Website
Visit site
Direct saves aren't supported on *ANY* of the 4 in 1 carts to my knowledge.. only in the cart's boot screen can saves be transferred from system memory to the cart. *Also read about this in the Ultimate Saturn FAQ*
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
38
Yeah, kind of disappointing. How big is the official Saturn save cart? I can't remember if it's 512KB (4Mb) or 4MB.
 

Gear

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
628
Points
16
Age
39
Website
Visit site
Check the details of your cart again.

I remember that when I was surfing, looking for my AR+ , which hasn't arrived yet, and I ordered it at august 17th :( , there were some carts announced as 4mb ones (in the big letters). The problem with them was that in the "details" or in the manufacturers home page they said "for save your games" and stuff like that.

Another thing is that you aren't plugging your cart correctly. Sometimes I get errors and malfunctions because of this with one "4th" party cart (just has the word "goldenfinger" written on it), which allows gameshark codes, have backup memory and is country converter.

By the way, I have 2 AR+ which doesn't boot, no matter what I do with them (I don't have a PC comm card to flash the bios, assuming that it is the problem). If you find out how to repair your cart, please let me know.
 

mal

Member
Joined
May 14, 2001
Messages
7,123
Points
36
Age
45
Website
Visit site
I hear you there Gear.

I bought an AR+ tinking it was a 4MB ram and save.

Nup.

I have since bought an AR4M...
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
38
Gear: Are the dead AR Plus units the ones made by EMS, or the ones made by Datel?
 

Rich

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2001
Messages
1
Points
1
I had a problem with my Saturn Booster (AR cart), the saturn wouldnt recognise it was there when it was fully pushed in, so try pulling it up a bit, presumably so the connections, connect properly.
 

mal

Member
Joined
May 14, 2001
Messages
7,123
Points
36
Age
45
Website
Visit site
Arakon, do newer AR4Ms have these problems? Are you talking about the Vampire Savior problems that early carts had?

Or something else completely?
 
Top