Sakura Taisen: A newbie translation attempt

I hope topics like this aren't frowned upon. I used to do a fair amount of ROM hacking back in the day for SNES/SFC games, but I'm completely new to Saturn hacking and all the information is a little overwhelming. I'm willing to learn though.

I want to translate the text in Sakura Taisen from Japanese to English. All I've really been able to figure out so far is that the game seems to use Shift-JIS encoding for the characters. Also, different font/dialogue files exist for each section of the game, which are broken down like so:

####.BIN

####FCE.BIN

####KNJ.BIN

####TBL.BIN

Cyber Warrior X briefly discusses this on his website, and he's even made a utility for messing around with this game. Unfortunately, I can't run it. I got an error message saying that I was missing ALLEG41.DLL. I searched for such a file on Google, downloaded it, and tried again, but I get the typical WinXP application crash message now.

Any help on how to approach these files or CWX's program, or even just documents on editing text in Saturn games in general, would be greatly appreciated.

I would seriously wish you a LOT of luck in finding someone who would translate the script using a tool llike that. It's not a bad idea at all, in fact, Byuu wrote something just like it for Dragon Quest V. The problem is it's incredibly inconvenient if you need to look up a word you don't know. So unless your translator is a native speaker (rare to find one who feels like doing video games) you might have some difficulty there. When byuu sent me that tool and asked me to proofread his DQ5 translation and make sure the translations were accurate, I thought he was joking. It's a serious anal pain to go that route.