Compiling, Programming Information...

Hey again. I'm still vaguely interested in this Saturn programming thing, and I've been reading up on C++, GCC, and Make (I'm pretty new at this).

But, I don't quite understand the need for an extra compiler. SGL and SBL libraries, sure, but is there a reason the KPIT compiler is recommended?

I recall that GCC can compile code for the SH2 processors, and that someone was working on integrating the SGL library into Dev-C++, but had some problems. Is there a reason why it doesn't work? I've downloaded the MinGW set of ported tools so I can have access to Make and GCC, and I know from looking through the tutorials that GCC is used in Saturn development to some extent, but I don't understand the distinction between the use of the KPIT compiler and of GCC. Are they the same thing, or KPIT a variant?

And...what is COFF? Antime's page said it has something to do with Sega's libraries (they are compatible with COFF), but I don't know what COFF is. My only guess is from reading GCC debugging docs which say that COFF is a type of output format, but that doesn't make any sense at all.

Sorry if these questions are a little too obvious...

Well, I did some more research and I managed to answer one of those questions.

I figured out that KPIT is actually a cross-compiler designed to output code runnable on an SH2, is that right?

I also figured out that GCC does not natively output code for any of the supported platforms, but only if it has an available customized cross-compiler version of itself installed.

I also pretty much figured out that I am going to be unable to build my own cross-compiler environment using MinGW and Windows, considering my inexperience at compiling huge projects and the fact that I bet compiling GCC under Windows in a non-Unix environment is even more of a nightmare.

So, this is why I need KPIT, right? Because it's a version of GCC configured to generate SH2 code that my GCC can't, right?