EA's buisness practices...

Lately one of the big stories engulfing game sites seems to the apparent neglect that EA has shown to it's body of employees (specifically massive hours with little or no added compensation).

For those who haven't read anything, you can get most of the information from here: EA Slashdot Posting

Anyway, I was wondering what everyone here though about this.

Sadly, this kind of thing is too typical, not just in the games industry, but also in the software industry at large as well as the entertainment biz. That said, it certainly sounds like EA is being even more exploitive than many other companies. I'm a pretty pro-labor kinda guy, and stories like these make me realize the value of unions more and more.

I've done lots of work in post-production and sound design etc. Generally the hours are really shitty (11pm till 7am) with no overtime.

Deadlines, profit margins and understaffing.

Originally posted by it290@Mon, 2004-11-15 @ 07:07 PM

Sadly, this kind of thing is too typical, not just in the games industry, but also in the software industry at large as well as the entertainment biz.
[post=123752]Quoted post[/post]​

That's certainly not the case in my neck of the woods.

At the very worst I'll get time off in lieu, but for the most part it's overtime. 😎

Originally posted by it290@Mon, 2004-11-15 @ 03:07 AM

I'm a pretty pro-labor kinda guy, and stories like these make me realize the value of unions more and more.