Forcing PAL Dreamcast to 60hz

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

Mangaman

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2001
Messages
29
Points
1
Website
Visit site
Hi guys,

I'm not sure whether I should have plonked this in tech help or not, so I'm sorry if this is in the wrong spot!

Anyhows, I was wondering if anyone can help me out with something - I recently (as in today) finally got Sakura Taisen 3 LE ver. B and am very happy with it... except for one thing - it defaults to PAL 50hz :(

Does anyone know if there's anything I can use to force my DC to 60hz for my imports? I have a mod chip in my machine so I can play imports without having to worry about boot discs or whatever. I know that the Gameshark thingy allows you to run it in 60hz, as does another disc by a UK company... I think. Are there any programs made by home-brew developers to plonk my machine into 60Hz? I was reading somewhere that there was one that would force it into 50hz, but I haven't heard anything about a 60hz one...

Any help would be greatly appreciated... hey, it'd also see me playing Sega Rally 2, since that one lacked a 60hz option! ####, I'd even grab VF3 if I could force it to 60hz from one of my local stores!

Cheers,

-Mangaman-
 

Shaneus

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Messages
128
Points
16
u CAN force games to run @ 60hz using an Action Replay CDX/Gameshark, but it screws up the borders (ie. VF3 has no border down the bottom, but the top border takes up almost half the screen!)

it actually makes ur DC think its from another country, coz after setting it to NTSC, it boots up with the orange DC Swirl, and it will load my import copy of SegaGT without any probs!

so yes, it KINDA works... but not real well :(
 

segasonic

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
398
Points
16
Website
Visit site
Out of interest has anyone found another way to force 60Hz? Shaneus is right about the border thing, it makes most games unplayable, including Sega Rally 2. There must be a way to play SR2 full screen on a PAL Dreamcast :(

The only game I have so far that the CDX has booted in NTSC (Full screen 60Hz) correctly is Ooga Booga.
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
39
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
no other way. not yet, and prolly not ever. it might only be possible with a BIOS or videochip replacement.
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
37
Well, there's this, but I haven't tried it and have never heard of anyone else getting it to work (only saw one guy on DCEmu who attempted it and it didn't work).
 

segasonic

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
398
Points
16
Website
Visit site
Thanks for the info guys. The R422 mod will make PAL games work correctly on an NTSC DC, but AFAIK it won't force NTSC on a PAL DC :(

Still it won't hurt me to try :biggrin:

I really thought the Gameshark CDX would do it, gos the PAL DC boots in proper NTSC-60 (Not PAL-60), with the orange DC logo and everything. I don't understand why Ooga Booga converts to NTSC-60 perfectly (it usually runs at 50Hz on a PAL machine), but all the other games shift halfway down the screen :(

I guess I can pick up a cheap import DC to play at 60Hz.
 
Top