Japanese to English translation help

Hello everybody, first of all sorry for my bad English.

I'm a complete newbie in this world, so sorry for my stupid questions.

The point is that I wanted to translate a Sega Saturn game called "Revolutionary Girl Utena - Four Days in Ohtori" from Japanese to English. I looked for a tutorial and downloaded a hex editor, but it wasn't able to read Japanese characters, I tried with other hex editors, but all of them had the same problem. I have all the Asian languages files installed on my computer, so maybe there's something I'm doing wrong. Can someone help me? I'm totally lost.

Meri said:
Hello everybody, first of all sorry for my bad English.

I'm a complete newbie in this world, so sorry for my stupid questions.

The point is that I wanted to translate a Sega Saturn game called "Revolutionary Girl Utena - Four Days in Ohtori" from Japanese to English. I looked for a tutorial and downloaded a hex editor, but it wasn't able to read Japanese characters, I tried with other hex editors, but all of them had the same problem. I have all the Asian languages files installed on my computer, so maybe there's something I'm doing wrong. Can someone help me? I'm totally lost.
You won't get very far with a hex editor alone. Games often use custom encodings (although some games do just use some variation of JIS or EUC), which means that you often need a separate (and usually game-specific) program to translate the encoding. Even if it's a standard text encoding, most hex editors will only display ASCII or CP437. RPGs and other text-heavy games typically have custom control codes ("stop and wait for the player to press a button now", "slowly draw this string one character at a time", "change font", "change color", etc.) also.