Possible to Replace Neo-Geo CDZ CD Drive

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

ConvexION

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
2
Points
1
Website
Visit site
Hi folks. I don't work too much with console hardware, but was wondering if anyone knew whether or not it would be possible to replace the Neo Geo CDZ drive with a faster CD drive mechanism?
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
37
Replace it with another mechanism? Maybe. I'm not as familiar with CD systems as I'd like to be, but I suspect that it's possible. Making it actually load faster, on the other hand, would probably require a BIOS hack, and might not be possible with the hardware in the system. However, if the reader and cache are sufficiently self-contained, maybe you could make something that would work. Without looking at the CDZ, though, I can't really give you any helpful information :(.
 

FAKK2

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2001
Messages
515
Points
16
Age
42
Website
Visit site
I wouldnt hold my breath.... ;) Trust me, Ive had people try.... and no success yet....
 

ShinJedah

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
269
Points
16
Website
Visit site
Wouldn't this be hard?If the system is configured for a specific CD drive you would have to reprogramm it.
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
37
Wouldn't this be hard?If the system is configured for a specific CD drive you would have to reprogramm it.
Maybe. It all depends on the level of hardware integration (i.e. how "abstract" the CD reader is to the main system). As I said before, though, I don't have any knowledge of the CDZ's CD hardware.
 

Dark

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2002
Messages
30
Points
6
Website
Visit site
I wouldnt try to ruin such an expensive system with my experiments if I am not sure its a success ..
 

sonofx51

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Messages
7
Points
1
It wouldn't matter, people have tried. The CDZ uses more cache than the CD system that's why it loads faster, they both use single speed drives. The real question is if one can put more cache into the CDZ to make load even faster.
 

sat985

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2002
Messages
113
Points
16
i've heard of ppl replacing the gdroms in dc's with cdroms, an dc is probably more sophisticated. wouldnt be very hard to do on a cd/cdz i'd bet. maybe ill try it somday. a good mechanism would be from a discman, a philips probably cause they read cdrw's that are burnt fairly fast.
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
37
I bet Sanyo mechanisms would be good too... IIRC they are the OEM for some Plextor and TDK burners. But the important thing is to get something that can be integrated into the NGCD, I guess.
 

sat985

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2002
Messages
113
Points
16
ill pick 1 up soon an play with it, if it breaks well fukit ill get another
 

Matrix

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2002
Messages
9
Points
1
Originally posted by sonofx51@July 24 2002, 3:55 am

It wouldn't matter, people have tried. The CDZ uses more cache than the CD system that's why it loads faster, they both use single speed drives. The real question is if one can put more cache into the CDZ to make load even faster.
I too have heard that the CDZ is only a SIngle speed unit.
 

PUNJABEE

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2002
Messages
334
Points
16
Yeah it is a Single Speed. SNK admitted that somewhere. It just has more cache, so it loads 'faster', but not by much.
 
Top