Quiting a job

racketboy

Established Member
Right now I'm a COBOL programmer who's worked for this non-profit for 3 years

I'm planning on quitting my job to go back to school out of state full time for a year.

To ease the blow, I'm asking if I can take a "leave" aka maybe comeback (even though I don't plan on it).

I've had this planned since January since I've needed to stash cash in order to pay for both my wife and my schooling without working. I didn't want to mention it earlier for fear that I might be let off earlier than I wanted. So now it's pretty much time for a two weeks notice.

Since I am a programmer and we do have a number of projects going on, I know my boss is going to be a least slightly bothered that I didn't come to him earlier.

What should my excuse be for not mentioning it earlier?

I relize it's really his problem and not mine, but is there anything I could say to make there be less tension? I mean theoretically, I have to put up with the situation for two more weeks.

Also he did mention when I was hired to let him know in advance if there was a situation such as this.

well for one, next Tuesday is two weeks

second, I didn't want to get let off extra early because I need the money

I can't think of a good way of getting out of this, but whatever you do, do it really soon or it's just going to get worse.

well I really wasn't going to let him know way in advance. It's way too much of a risk. It's not like I'm going to another job. I need to go to school out of state full time.

Just tell him that your housing situation was uncertain and that you didn't know when exactly you'd have to leave, and that it came up sooner than you expected. Even if he doesn't believe you, it'll keep him off your back.

Originally posted by racketboy@Jul 16, 2004 @ 04:50 PM

well I really wasn't going to let him know way in advance. It's way too much of a risk. It's not like I'm going to another job. I need to go to school out of state full time.