Sega Saturn PC link

hi all

I'm a wannabe sega saturn programmer, and i'm stuck into this link problem. I think this was largely discussed here in the forum and i did search for answers befora posting. But since those could not answer my questions, i'm posting here.

Here they are:

1.) i'm thinking on ordering a Action Replay 4M Plus for my sega saturn

Action Replay 4M Plus (lik-sang)

will i be able to link it to my pc using parallel/serial ports and not using the infamous CommLink card?!

2.) I read on Rockin'-B's Tutorial that exists a FreeWing IF ou yano extend cart that can act like an interface between the action replay's port and the parallel port. Anyone has built this?! Do they work properly?! I searched over the internet but i could not find any schematics for builting these. Can anyone send me a link?????

3.) Can anyone ever tried to reverse engineer the protocol in order to directly link the action replay to the pc serial/parallel port?!?!? I think that, if properly set up, PC port can provide enough speed to do the job of linking the pc and the console for development proposes.

What can you say about the viability of this??!?

that's it for now

thanks

Daniel

go with the comms link card and save yourself a world of trouble. and do not use sbl/sgl. use charles' code as examples, use antime's or bart's linker/crt0 scripts. oh, and don't give up!

The AR protocol is used in homebrew PC tools and homebrew Saturn demos, so it's sort of reverse engineered. Examples: sh2 debugger, 68k debugger, Charles MacDonald's Saturn demos.

The schematics can be found in topics of this board.

QUOTE(Piratero @ Thu, 2005-11-03 @ 09:45 AM)use sbl/sgl

[post=141312]Quoted post[/post]

[/b]

This is no good advice, as it applies only for a minority of coders. The average "wannabe sega saturn programmer" will just give up and leave. Is that what you want?

@Thu, 2005-11-03 @ 09:45 AM

oh, and don't give up!

[post=141312]Quoted post[/post]​

True!