WinXP Pro DC Server

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

Jonos

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
4
Points
1
Website
Visit site
I know you can use Win2k and Win98/ME to make a dial up server that allows your Dreamcast to run off of a broadband connection. Since I am now on Windows XP, I was wondering if there was a way I could do the same thing using that.

Anyone have any ideas?
 

Zero 9

New Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Messages
395
Points
16
Age
33
Website
www.everyzero.com
Quote: from eatpenguin on 2:38 am on Jan. 6, 2002

everything that runs on 2k runs on xp
No. WinRoute (vital for this setup) does not work in XP.

You'll have to wait for an update or find a substitute to WinRoute.
 

Zziggy00

New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2001
Messages
781
Points
16
Website
Visit site
if you are connecting your dreamcast to your PC through the Dreamcast's standard dial-up modem, even though it is on your broadband connection you will still be playing games as if you just connected the Dreamcast straight to a phone line....
 

eatpenguin

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2001
Messages
419
Points
16
Age
36
Website
www.amazon.com
but you wont have to pay for a dial-up isp in addition to the broadband connection. paying for dial-up just for playing dreamcast sounds really lame thing to do.
 

Cynnamin

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2001
Messages
598
Points
16
Age
39
Website
www.mindspring.com
Just buy a #### router and a bba and hook it up that way.

Routers are cheap as shit and you can get BBA's at a reasonable price now.
 

Jonos

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
4
Points
1
Website
Visit site
I appreciate all of you people who use "Buy this"

as a suggestion. I assume you are trying to be helpful and all, but REALITY is that the BBA's REASONABLE price is over 100 dollars US (that's like over $195 Canadian... where I live) even though, Cynnamin your colourful use of adjectives and similes almost turned me to buy the BBA.

And ZZiggy00, yeah I'm aware that it only connects you at phone speed (33.6k in fact) but that's all you need to play on DC anyway. Plus, it wouldn't take up my phone line, and I would essentially have unlimited hours.

Thanks for everyone's help. I've actually found somewhat of a guide here:

http://www.dcvision.com/Mterlouw

hope this helps anyone whos having troubles like me!
 
Top