Best Saturn Emu for Testing?

slinga

Established Member
Hey guys,

I'm finally programming on saturn again (and enjoying it :cheers) after a farily long hiatus. What emulator do you guys use to test your binaries on? I know using an emu has it's drawbacks but I prefer this method because 1) I'm a lousy programmer who can't afford to burn each of his tests, 2) I don't have a commlink card and don't intend to buy one.

I'm using Satourne debugger Dynarec v01102002 WiP, which is OK for testing, nothing great. This version I have seems to have some issue in regards to sprites. I can see the sprites on Satourne, but they don't show up on the real hardware when I burn an iso. Need to look further into that. I tried some of the newer versions of Satourne, but I felt they were actually a step back. I used to use Giri Giri for a while, but I don't think that had binary support.

Yes, GiriGiri does have binary support. See attached pic.

On a related note, here are some screenshots I made for El Piratero running his Sega Saturn binary demos in GiriGiri.
smile.gif

Attachments

• girigiri_load_exec.gif
    girigiri_load_exec.gif
    8.7 KB · Views: 191
Originally posted by slinga@Mon, 2004-12-06 @ 01:22 AM

I tried some of the newer versions of Satourne, but I felt they were actually a step back.

That's just plain wrong. The latest Satourne version is way better than the previous one, the only problem I spotted is related to the cdblock which isn't used for binaries ...

The next version of Saturnin will be nice for binaries also, it's still in alpha stages but stuff made by VBT works nicely on it (it wasn't the case earlier)

I find SSF to have by far the highest compatibility.

This stands especially true for the 0.07 version, however you should note that the 0.07 version lacks the VDP2 backgrounds (last version to have them was 0.06 alpha 4, which is also included on the homepage for this very reason).

@MasterAkumaMatata: