Broadband Internet Connection Opinions..

I’ve been using a 56K modem dialup connection since 2000.

When I first used the Internet in 1997 I had a 14400 modem, but sites were a lot “lighter” back then.

I'm fortunately, the 56K is getting just way too slow for my demanding downloading needs, so I’m thinking about upgrading to a Dynamic IP, 512K / 128K ADSL Phone broadband connection.

This ADSL Phone package includes a 512K / 128K unlimited ADSL broadband internet connection & 2 telephone lines (+500 hours of free telephone per month)

For a total of 52.83 Euros / month ($ 62.50)

They also offer:

384K / 128K & 2 telephone lines (+500 free hours) for 43.79 Euros / month ($ 51.86)

1024K / 256K & 2 telephone lines (+500 free hours) for 78.30 Euros / month ($ 92.73)

This is the best offer I could find, as telecommunications are still very primitive in this part of the world...

But I think this specific 512/128K, is the better offer to go for.

So, what type of internet connection do you guys have and how much are you paying per month?

Any opinions will be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Whoa, that sucks. I thought the US was crappy as far as broadband goes. I'm currently paying $44USD/mo for 1.5mbps down / 1 mbps up (static IP) + phone line.

Anyway, if I were you I would probably go for the cheapest option. $10 is a big difference to pay for 128k, and even though 384kbps is slow, so is 512, and I don't think you'll notice much difference between the two.. not $10 a month worth of difference anyway. Also keep in mind for bittorrent dls and such, your download is going to be crippled by your upstream anyway.

I've got a 6 Mbit connection with dynamic IP for 45 dollars... they want an extra 20 bucks for a static IP so I didn't bother.

Originally posted by it290@Sat, 2005-12-31 @ 01:42 AM

Whoa, that sucks.  I thought the US was crappy as far as broadband goes.  I'm currently paying $44USD/mo for 1.5mbps down / 1 mbps up (static IP) + phone line.