could someone post some working hello world code?

Hi.

I'm new to Saturn dev, and admittedly am getting swamped with all the various documentation for the SH2, SBL, and SGL.

I also haven't set up my toolchain yet, but lack the motivation to do so because I don't really know where to begin once that part of it is done.

Could someone please post C and/or assembler code that will do something simple, such as display "Hello World," so I can see what the basic skeleton for a Saturn app looks like, as well as maybe see some of the common library functions put to use?

I'm going to be using Yabause for my initial testing. Thanks!

Welcome Mirakus.

The easiest way to start Saturn Dev is to use the two sega libraries SGL and SBL. http://www.rockin-b.de/saturn/saturngametutorial/SaturnGameTutorial.htm is the best way to learn how to use the SGL.

If you wish to avoid the libraries http://vberthelot.free.fr/SX/satdev/Programs.html download some of Charles M. stuff. He is no longer part of the Saturn Dev community as are a lot of these people. So if you have any questions please ask here on the forums and do not contact the authors availible.

I have included some example code.. please note this hacked together from Rockin'Bs tutorial and may not compile.

Code:
#include <SGL.H>

#include <sddrvs.dat>

void init_VDP2()

{

slBack1ColSet((void *)BACK_CRAM, CD_Black);

slPriorityNbg0(7);

slPriorityNbg1(6);

slScrPosNbg1(toFIXED(0.0), toFIXED(0.0));

slZoomModeNbg1(ZOOM_1);

slZoomNbg1(toFIXED(1.0), toFIXED(1.0));            

slScrAutoDisp(NBG0ON | NBG1ON);

}

void init_GFX()

{

slInitSystem(TV_320x240, tex_SpriteTable, 1);

slInitGouraud(gourRealMax, GOUR_REAL_MAX, GRaddr, vwork);

slIntFunction(my_vblank);

slTVOff();

init_VDP2();

slTVOn();

}

void ss_main()

{

slInitSystem(TV_320x240, tex_SpriteTable, 1);

// init sprite GPU, upload textures

init_GFX();

while(1) {

slPrint("Hello World",toFIXED(0,0));

slSynch();

}

// return to demo demo loader