Dreaming: The Future of Saturn Emulation

racketboy

Established Member
Let me preface this by saying I have the utmost respect and appreciation for those involved in developing Sega Saturn emulators. As a professional programmer myself, I know the hard work, frustration, and bits of genius that goes into hardcore programming. And considering how complex of a machine the Saturn is, the dedication is only multiplied.

Now, I would just like to ask a few interview-style questions of those that work on Saturn emulation or know a respectible amount about the subject.

1) How do you see the future of Saturn emulation in general?

2) Would you like to see a Saturn emulator modeled after another emulator such as ePSXe? (plugins, etc)

3) What games do you think will be the most difficult to emulate perfectly? and why?

4) What time period do you realisticly see Saturn emulation reaching near-perfection at full speed? and on what type of hardware?

5) What has been your biggest thrill in Saturn emulation thus far?

6) What is your favorite non-Saturn emulator?

Originally posted by racketboy@Feb 12, 2004 @ 02:02 PM

Let me preface this by saying I have the utmost respect and appreciation for those involved in developing Sega Saturn emulators. As a professional programmer myself, I know the hard work, frustration, and bits of genius that goes into hardcore programming. And considering how complex of a machine the Saturn is, the dedication is only multiplied.

Now, I would just like to ask a few interview-style questions of those that work on Saturn emulation or know a respectible amount about the subject.

2) Would you like to see a Saturn emulator modeled after another emulator such as ePSXe? (plugins, etc)

3) What games do you think will be the most difficult to emulate perfectly? and why?

4) What time period do you realisticly see Saturn emulation reaching near-perfection at full speed? and on what type of hardware?

1) It will eventually be decent.