JAP Sega Saturn.. Does it need a 60Hz switch?

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

Flakvin

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
384
Points
16
Age
36
Website
www.flaknet.eclipse.co.uk
This is probably a stupid question, but, I'm thinking of getting a JAP SS, and I want to play games Fullscreen and 17.5% faster (than a PAL UK SS). So, does a JAP SS need a 50Hz to 60Hz switch modification?

Please could someone enlighten me?
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
39
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
japan already uses ntsc, so the saturn runs at 60 hz constantly. there's only a handful of games that have timing probs if not running at 50 hz, if you stick to jap or US games, you won't run into probs, tho.
 

Flakvin

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
384
Points
16
Age
36
Website
www.flaknet.eclipse.co.uk
Hmm... Thanks for answering my question.

But, now you've got me worried... Timing problems? What does this mean? Is there a list of PAL games that are known to have timing problems on NTSC machines?
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
39
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
guardian heroes for example.. also story of thor, as the pic won't fit on a 60 hz machine.

there are US versions of both available, tho.
 

Flakvin

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
384
Points
16
Age
36
Website
www.flaknet.eclipse.co.uk
Oh, so, it's not like worrible flickery screen or nothing like that?

Oh, and a little question about JAP Saturns. They will work properly on UK TV sets, yeah?
 

megametalgreymon

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Messages
705
Points
16
Age
37
Website
Visit site
depends on the tv

if it can take an ntsc signal it will be fine, you will probabbly need a scart lead though

something else to consider, as you may not realise, you need a transformer or a 240v power supply to use it in the uk, as it will have a 110v one currently
 

Flakvin

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
384
Points
16
Age
36
Website
www.flaknet.eclipse.co.uk
I'm planning on getting a 'Stepdown Transformer' from VideoGameCompany.com with the JAP SS unit.

I think my TV can take an NTSC signal, because I've tried using USA/JAP games on my Dreamcast, and they work fine. Dunno if this actually tells me if my TV can handle an NTSC signal or not....
 
Top