new dc's cant boot utopia?

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

lasher88

New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
4
Points
1
Website
Visit site
hi, i just read in an older post thaT NEW DC'S cant boot utopia cd or other cd's like it?

is this true??

how can you tel if a dc is from befor october 2000? (i want one for christmas and would get one used if that's the case

thanks a lot for replies
 

Curtis

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2001
Messages
2,594
Points
36
Age
37
Website
Visit site
The newer ones dont support CDR's, so as a result anyting burnt doesn't work (including boot discs). Only the very newer ones, though.
 

Fabrizo

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2001
Messages
992
Points
16
Age
35
Website
Visit site
Wasn't it that the protection only makes it so that the DC wont boot up the first track or sector of CD-R's?
 

3rdman

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
356
Points
16
Age
49
Sega, near the end of the Dreamcast's life, began making DC's that couldn't read CDRs. I've never come across one, though. I even just bought one and it boots up my Genny emulator just fine. I think I also read somewhere that these DC were only sold in Japan...but I could be wrong.
 

VertigoXX

Mid Boss
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
1,135
Points
36
Website
www.PoetsHaven.com
Find yourself one of the Sega Sports edition ones (in the black case w/ NBA & NFL 2K or 2K1). Those work fine. Or find one in the old white and orange boxes. With either of those, you'll be able to boot your import of Shenmue 2.
 

Gear

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
628
Points
16
Age
39
Website
Visit site
The only ones which can`t read copies are the sakura ones, they doesn`t run cdrs with more than one session.
 

Zero 9

New Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Messages
395
Points
16
Age
33
Website
www.everyzero.com
Quote: from MasterAkumaMatata on 12:38 am on Dec. 22, 2001

ALL Dreamcasts "work," you just need to reself boot the emulator.
Riiiiiiight. Exactly what is your definition of ALL Dreamcasts?

My definition is every #### one that can boot anything.

The new ones just have a protection that does not allow audio to be before the data. You can selfboot games using a selfboot method that puts the data track(s) before the audio (like gdroms).
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
38
From what I remember of some of the vague GD-ROM tech crap that was floating around, official GD-ROMs have something like 4 or 5 sessions, with the layout looking something along the lines of:

1) Low-density session (readable by a standard CD-ROM reader, has been used e.g. for bonus desktop backgrounds)

2) Can't remember...

3) Dummy session (takes up unused space to optimize for CAV access)

4) High-density data session

5) CDDA tracks?

My memory on this is pretty vague, but some of the stuff is probably still floating around out there somewhere...
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
38
According to info earlier in that slideshow, there are only two sessions, and I was thinking of tracks. Still, there's no mention of the "dummy track" that I remember (and I know it was mentioned somewhere as I also remember a blurb saying that the mastering program generated it so as not to need a huge file containing nothing). Oh well.
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
38
Sure, but ISTR this being an official source, such as one of the PDF files from the Katana SDK... just wish I really knew where it was from though.
 

Curtis

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2001
Messages
2,594
Points
36
Age
37
Website
Visit site
I just found this (while wasting time to see if I'm going to wina bid on a Nomad), and it seems that the new DC's can boot the Utopia Boot Disc.

Heres how:

http://cvforums.wolfnet.org/YaBB.cg....Haven't tried this myself (no need :) )

Have fun.
 
Top