sega CD rip

use raw (dao) for burning, but not for ripping.

though i think it'd be fine for a segacd image it messes up the country code, manufacturer and the rest of the bibliographic info on saturn rips

For Sega CD games, either way will -work-, but that doesn't imply it's perfect copy.

Up until recently I have been pushing for mode1/2048 images made with CDRWin, but I have come to the conclusion CDRWin doesn't bother to copy everything from the disc exactly as it is, so I now hate CDRWin and would like kick the fuckers from Goldenhawk in the nuts for creating a program that acts in such a manner.

Sega CD discs have 150 bad (or unreadable, or something) sectors at the end of the data track, which cause issues with applications trying to extract the data in mode1/2048 format. I've known this for a while, but it never really caused me any concern, because CDRWin would happily make a full mode1/2048 disc image without any sort of resistance.

After a (heated) discussion with someone (sorry derfunk)who told me that Nero would not burn the image of Earthworm Jim I had made in this fashion, I did some testing and realized CDRWin would see these sectors on the disc, be thoroughly confused, and decide they were not worth the trouble, thus moving on without a second thought. The problem is that the TOC of the disc is now not accurate due to the difference in length of the data track in the image compared to the data track on the original disc. This causes problems with Nero and Blindwrite, but CDRWin will burn the image and it seems to work fine in an actual machine.