SegaCD bios background

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
39
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
does anyone know if there's a good way to extract the bios background image in the model 1 bioses, modify it, and re-insert it?

any info would be appreciated.
 

RadSil

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Messages
317
Points
16
Age
34
Website
www.siloromano.com
Do you mean the background with the planets? You could try using a program like Tile Layer Pro (in Genesis format) to maybe track down potential background tiles and dump them to a bitmap for editing. You can also reinsert them. There are probably problems with this, because I remember hearing somewhere that lots of the SegaCD's bios data is compressed, and decompressed into memory while it's in use. Also you would likely need to modify the palette to accomodate any new colors you would introduce... please, someone smarter than me, help out! :)
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
39
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
I managed to find the copyright message in the top right in the model 1 US bios (but not in the model 1 jap bios), and some parts of the segacd logo, but the rest seems to be compressed :/
 

RadSil

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Messages
317
Points
16
Age
34
Website
www.siloromano.com
Well if you _really_ want to modify it, you could try tracing the code somehow to find out how it decompresses it... and figure out some way to recompress it. You'd probably have to write a custom util for that. I don't think there is a way to trace 68k code in an emu or anything though.
 

Artemio Urbina

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
236
Points
16
Website
junkerhq.net
have you tried lhz and those? Maybe that helps out... there are algorithms around there, and you could try them on different offsets...

just a "brute force" idea...
 

RadSil

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Messages
317
Points
16
Age
34
Website
www.siloromano.com
Just remembered: Didn't Eidolon's Inn have a decompressed bios image on their site? It probably wouldn't be too useful but you might be able to figure out if the tiles you want are indeed compressed.
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
39
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
I checked that one out already, there's in fact absolutely nothing useful visible in a tile editor, even less than with the normal BIOS.

as for the other suggestions.. I can't program worth a ####, so I myself can't do much in that direction.. if anyone wants to help out, it'd be appreciated, tho.
 

Artemio Urbina

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
236
Points
16
Website
junkerhq.net
this week I have no time, unfortunately...

But maybe during the weekend or next week, I can give it a try...(I haven't even advanced in my project...*sniff*)

(Edited by Artemio Urbina at 9:46 pm on Oct. 4, 2001)
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
39
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
yeah, it is, Radsil. I'd like to add in a different logo, change the background (different images) and add credits for the people who helped out, as well as links to SX and eidolon's inn.
 
Top