Will I be able...

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

FakerKing

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Messages
4
Points
1
Website
Visit site
Hi!

Will I be able to play US/JAP Sega CD games when I only do the country code conversion from US/JAP to EUROPE?

What about that switch I can build into my Sega CD II? Is this a MUST or will the NTSC games work without any problem on my PAL system (after country conversion of course?).

Thanks a lot...
 

FakerKing

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Messages
4
Points
1
Website
Visit site
Thanks Ratamahatta!

My Sega CD II system is on the way and I just wanted to be sure that the NTSC games work.

So I only need the switch to play games without country conversion?
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
39
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
there is no switch for segacd.

you should install a 50/60 hz switch to your genesis/MD, or ntsc games will run too slow on your segacd, and will be out of sync.

scdconv will not work with all games, but it will for some.
 

FakerKing

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Messages
4
Points
1
Website
Visit site
So if I got it right, I could only cut that specific tiny trace and switch the jumpers and my Sega Genesis will be switched to 60 Hz...

Let's say I only want to play US/JAP games, so I don't have to install that switch immediately and I am able to play them at full speed?

(Edited by FakerKing at 10:52 am on Mar. 7, 2002)
 

FakerKing

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Messages
4
Points
1
Website
Visit site
OK, just thought about it again and I think that it will be the best to install that switch as it isn't really that much work :)
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
39
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
if you got a european scd, you NEED the switch, or it won't even boot.

start at 50 hz, switch to 60 hz.

keep in mind this has NO influence on wether an import works or not, only on the game speed.

also, you might need a RGB scart cable (and tv that supports it) to get a color picture.
 

Shinji

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Messages
54
Points
6
Website
Visit site
Only known exception so far is Heart of the Alien (US). It will only boot with a MegaDrive/Genesis at 60 Hz.
 
Top