Windows Dev Environment for Saturn

Hi,

Not sure if anyone here follows Jaguar development, but I'm currently a full-time Atari Jaguar developer (took a break in my SW engineering career, to follow my passion), with my first game to be released around January 2019.

Here's a very old vid of the game, originally inspired by StunRunner, running on the engine I've been developing in my free time these past few years (before going fulltime recently):

Since Jag & Saturn are so close, HW-wise, I have put a great deal of thought into porting my games to Saturn too. Initially, I was considering Dreamcast, but that's too far, technologically, and visually, so Saturn makes much more sense from that standpoint. And, given its VDP1/2 capabilities, adding texturing should be very easy.

As Saturn has a fully working C compiler for SH-2s, it should be very easy for me to support Saturn as a second platform, compared to the development hell on Jaguar. Of course, the initial learning curve will be steep, but as I'm quite proficient in RISC and 68000 assembler, I know exactly what to focus on, so I really only need the initial nudge towards proper dev env.

From some initial lurking around here, I noticed one thread about the dev env set-up (Red Rico's, I believe) that mentioned exactly same environment that I did 6 months ago when I was considering Dreamcast - to be more specific:
- mingw-64
- texinfo
- newlib
- kos

- gcc-4.73
- sh4-binutils
- sh4-gcc
- sh-elf
- genromfs

All that was done under MSYS.
Am I going to be able to reuse this environment for Saturn ? The sh compiler supports multiple targets anyway, so SH-2 should be targetable, I presume ?

Or is there a different, better alternative right now, in 2018 ?

Note, that while I have working Saturn at home, it's unmodded, so initially, all my dev would be against emulator. For the developer, is yabause best or are there other emulators that would be better suited (say, with debugging, dump, or other dev functionality) ?