3D Modelling for the Saturn Environment

Hi, I'm new, and I'm an avid Saturn supporter (having owned and played on my Saturn since 1995).

I'm an aspiring 3D modeller and games designer (attending university in the UK on a games design course) and I'm curious about the rules and system involved in creating 3D models to be used in general 3D engines for the Saturn.

What I allready know, is that all 3D geomitry must be in 4 vertice faces instead of the standard 3 vertice faces. But I don't know the texturing theory, or the system in which the models would be animated or the format they must be saved in for use on the Saturn.

If anyone could help it would be gratefully appreciated.

I'm not a programmer or attempting to create a game for the saturn, but I would like to be usefull in the development of 3D based games on the Saturn anyone here may be creating and I'm interested in.

Modelling with quads is actually easier than modelling with tris. A LOT easier. As for the format, it just depends on your game engine and its capabilities. There are several open 3d formats out there for game devving that have exporters available for popular modelling programs such as max, maya, or lightwave. There may be some example format present in the docs, I'm not sure.

Originally posted by Aoi_Vulture+Wed, 2006-02-08 @ 09:54 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Aoi_Vulture @ Wed, 2006-02-08 @ 09:54 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'>What I allready know, is that all 3D geomitry must be in 4 vertice faces instead of the standard 3 vertice faces.

[post=144225]Quoted post[/post]​

[/b]

Actually you can also use triangles, in this case the 4th vertice will be the same as the 3rd. You don't have to care about that, it's done by the tools.

Originally posted by Aoi_Vulture@Wed, 2006-02-08 @ 09:54 PM

But I don't know the texturing theory,

As Saturn's VDP1 is a sprite based renderer, every textured polygon (quad, triangle or polyline?) got a rectangular texture image assigned.