Forgot to convert to WAV

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

random

New Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
23
Points
1
I just burned a couple of games without converting the MP3s to WAV. Did CDRWin just convert them itself when it was burning? I've usually used MP3->WAV. What's going on? It couldn't have just copied the MP3s across right? or the MegaCD wouldn't run them.
 

Gallstaff

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Messages
3,600
Points
36
Age
31
Website
Visit site
I don't think it matters as i've burnt mega cd games in cdrwin before keeping them as mp3 and they worked... well ok they didn't work but that happend before i burnt them anyway.
 

random

New Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
23
Points
1
OK, so I don't actually need MP3->WAV when using CDRWin? Or are there other advantages?
 

draelich

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Messages
21
Points
1
Website
Visit site
You don't *need* to convert to wav first. However, if you don't, then burning will take a lot more cpu power, and on top of that, what if you are doing something on your computer, and cdrwin isn't decoding the mp3 fast enough? Also, I'm sure that cdrwin's (or any other burning program that decodes on the fly) method of converting to wav won't give you the best possible sound. Your best bet is to stick with converting to wav first.
 

Ratamahatta

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
1,172
Points
36
i've actually used fireburner which converts the mp3 files before the burn then deletes the temp files and there is no degradation of sound.
 

SegaSaturnDDR

New Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
385
Points
16
Age
36
Website
Visit site
you have any idea how little power it takes to convert a mp3 to wav? if you can run listen to mp3's without your computer crashing then theres no reason you cant burn and decode them at the same time
 

draelich

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Messages
21
Points
1
Website
Visit site
I'm just speaking from experience. I used to always use fireburner and burn from the mp3 (dunno what version Ratamahatta had, but mine decoded on the fly) and before I had a burner with burn proof, I would get buffer underrun errors quite often if I was doing stuff. Maybe my computer doesn't multitask as well as yours, but that's just my experience.
 

megametalgreymon

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Messages
705
Points
16
Age
37
Website
Visit site
the only thing you need to be careful of is that those mp3's arent vbr

i think its cdrwin that doesnt decode these correctly, so if you get screwed audio then that may be the reason
 
Top