Genesis VPD vs Saturn VDP

First of all, I am not a coder or anything like that. I just own a Mega Drive and would like to investigate some things here about its VDP compared to Saturn.

All I know is that Mega Drive VDP is unfortunately limited to sprites. I do mind it, because many great games like Gunstar Heroes have problems in 2-player modes.

On the other hand, Mega Drive VDP is really powerfull - it is extraordinarily complex as for the priorities and collisions of background and sprites. A real arcade adventure here.

My question is:

I know there are many gurus on this forum, and I would like to ask them if the Saturn VDP is similar to that in the Mega Drive as for the complexity and capability to handle backgrounds and sprites - I mean NOT display them but actually calculate their collisions in particular and (priorities as well, but I guess priorities is not that a problem).

so, who is the real winner?

Mega Drive with a complex 2D VDp but limited sprites (sadly) or Saturn???

Yo,

"All I know is that Mega Drive VDP is unfortunately limited to sprites."

I don't understand what you mean by "limited to sprites"...

You speak about sprite limit (80total, 20perline/320px per line)?

"but actually calculate their collisions"

There is no colision calculation with genesis vdp...

The vdp just indicates that two (or more) sprites collided during the drawing (it doesnt output a collide table)...

Originally posted by Borisz@Mon, 2005-07-04 @ 07:34 AM

He probably means that the Saturn VDP (the VDP2 actually) can handle pictures in a whole.

[post=136264]Quoted post[/post]​

What does that mean? There is no sprite field on Saturn???

As for the Mega Drive - it is a pity they did not elaborated a more powerfull sprite capabilities, at least as Neo Geo, it would be cool to handle around 1000 sprites at once...