Good homebrew software for DC?

Been a few years since I've played a DC, but just saw one today with mem/card for $15, plus shenmue for $1 and figured "can't go wrong".

Like the title says what homebrew games/apps/emus do you recommend? For emus I don't wanna touch it unless it has sound plus runs full speed (fullspeed w/ frameskipping is OK).

Has anyone made efforts to improve the old "SegaGen"? I had an early version with small hard-to-read fonts but then a nicer interfaced version was released. Just curious if anyone made other efforts to update it.

For apps, I used to use an mp3 player (forget the name). Pretty straightforward, it just played all the mp3's in the directory. Maybe nowadays there is something more advanced, like with a dsp or eq plus other sound formats support. Is there a freeware VCD player that actually works? Also is DC Linux useful for anything? I've never used linux (any variety) before. Any other apps you may feel are useful, feel free to mention.

Homebrew games- I used to have quake. What else is good? Interested in trying Beats of Rage but can't find where to download it. Is it possible to put the various mods on 1 disc and select from there (think I remember some news post about that from VGN or Zophars or somewhere).

Is DC bleem any good? I remember it was hacked to play any game, but I never tried it.

Also, is it taboo to ask where to d/l the unreleased games such as prop arena?

When was the last time Utopia Boot Disc was updated?

Sorry for all the questions. Just answer whatever you have time for and maybe let others pick up the slack.

Emus - NesterDC and the NeoCD emus are the best. SMS Plus is good, too. SegaGen is an illegal emulator, although there is still no Genesis emulator as good (IMHO).