In Severe Need of Sega CD Help

Hi, I'm new to the Sega CD, but I can't get it to work. I have the correct and official power adapters for both the Sega CD and the Sega Genesis. At first, the system was not powering up, so I figured that I may had blown a fuse in the Sega CD system and followed some instructions I found on a web-site . I checked the continuity of the adapter to the Sega CD after opening it up with a digital volt meter and it seemed as if none of the fuses were broken, so I did not replace it.

Shortly after, I read about cleaning the connecting tray and slots with an eraser/rubbing alcohol, so I tried that too. Still no luck. My genesis system will boot up fine, but my Sega CD is not responding at all. Is there a problem with my genesis, or is there something that I'm missing about the Sega CD? I have never assembled one before, so I'm not sure if I'm doing everything correctly.

Please help, this has been a problem for me for the past week and I am extremely frustrated.

-Alucard X

Originally posted by Alucard X@Jul 22, 2003 @ 02:08 PM

I bought it from a video game store on Yahoo! shopping named Jersey Games, it seemed reliable...

Have you tried emailing them?

Yes, I've tried e-mailing them, they don't know what's wrong.

I was thinking that even though my digital volt meter told the voltage of the fuse, that something still may be screwed up with the ampage. I don't have an ampage reader, do you think that the ampage may be the problem?

Try (TEMPORARILY) bypassing the fuse with a piece of wire and wraping it around the two "legs" of the fuse. See if that solves the problem. The fuse is the little green sausage like thing that's right beside the power connector on the board. If the system powers up after you bypassed the fuse then the fuse is bad and you can replace it with any 1amp fuse. If not email the seller and complain.