Making a Game

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

Blue Sonnet

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2001
Messages
8
Points
1
Website
Visit site
If anyone is going to make a game, then wouldn't it be better to do it as a group?

First, what type of game do you wan't to play?

Action/Adventure

RPG

Driving

Shoot-Em-Up

And should it be in 3D or 2D?

just add at the end of this, what type of game you think it should be. It may help people who are trying to make games.
 

Artemio Urbina

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
236
Points
16
Website
junkerhq.net
If it is the first time the group makes such a big effort, I think an RPG is the best... enough to learn the tricks necessary... BUT you need to be GOOD at story telling and character development above all =)
 

TakaIsSilly

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2001
Messages
364
Points
16
Website
www.emuhq.com
Something simple --; For crissake, everybody wants to make the next MGS and aren't even able to make a pong game for the Saturn.
 

lockecole2

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2001
Messages
60
Points
6
Website
Visit site
Quote: from MasterAkumaMatata on 2:33 am on Aug. 28, 2001

What about a text-based RPG? No fancy GUI or anything, just plain old text. That should be simple and doable.
i'd hope it'd wouldn't be like an infocom text adventure, or else inputting the commands would take forever on a controller (is there a saturn keyboard? i've never seen/heard of one.)
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
37
A Pong-style game done as a coding tutorial might be neat... as for a text adventure, one using menus might not be too bad, and for something more in the infocom style, a mechanism could be devised that allows choosing words from a list to construct an action sentence. I think a reasonabe mechanism could be designed by taking advantage of the Saturn controller design. For example, words/phrases could be grouped by type into lists activated by the different buttons (such as X for actions, Y for inventory items, Z for objects or exits in the current room), and L/R would allow fast scrolling. Just an idea... :)
 

RadSil

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Messages
317
Points
16
Age
34
Website
www.siloromano.com
Nethack rules... but would you make graphics for a Saturn version, or just be cheap and make a DOS-like font? The DC would be a good platform for Nethack. Hmm.
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
37
I have now spent a good (time interval unknown) playing Nethack, and it does indeed kick much ass.

(Edited by ExCyber at 10:51 pm on Aug. 29, 2001)
 

Blue Sonnet

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2001
Messages
8
Points
1
Website
Visit site
Well, see were getting somewhere.

Group voices are allways the best at decisions.

Okay, now for something else.

Wouldn't making a game be easier if you make tools?

Like, something to convert Windows low quality sound files to Saturn and so forth (nobody has actually tried to do sound for Saturn, midi or wav, you may make a game, a 3D rpg, but there is no REAL info on sound)
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
37
Well, there's no info on sound, unless you count the SCSP Manual :). of course, doing effects (by which I mean things like reverb and pitch changes) and synthesis would probably require programming the DSP; AFAIK that kind of stuff is not built in. Of course, there's probably a Sega-made library floating around out there...
 

TakaIsSilly

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2001
Messages
364
Points
16
Website
www.emuhq.com
Well, nethack has pre-designed graphics for the X11 and a couple of other platforms. I was thinking in using them. The _big_ program is all the actions you can perform :p I can think of using the L R switches for extra options (ie, L = Actions, R = Magic) and menus to select stuff :p.
 

RadSil

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Messages
317
Points
16
Age
34
Website
www.siloromano.com
And also, a (DJGPP) executable of Nethack I have is 1,617,778 bytes*. On a Saturn, adding in the graphics and any RAM used by the program (which would probably be quite a lot, there are a lot of stats and variable conditions and stuff) you would either have none left over or a very tight fit. You could always hack the code into an "overlay" scheme though...

* this is assuming that the Saturn would need all of the standard lib calls... it probably would considering that Nethack is a PC program

Edit: Corrected dumb mistake

(Edited by RadSil at 5:33 pm on Aug. 30, 2001)
 

Despa

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
10
Points
1
Website
Visit site
Why not port Rogue instead? Might be a bit less time consuming graphics wise.. and I like it more than Nethack.. even though I still haven't gotten that blasted.. thingamabobber that you're supposed to find way down in the 20's :p Oi. Just an idea. Good luck =)
 
Top