Reading from the framebuffer?

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

luisoft

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2010
Messages
25
Points
1
Do u test your engine using high resolution ? Do a small test using max vdp1 resolution 512x224
 

XL2

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Messages
183
Points
43
Age
34
Do u test your engine using high resolution ? Do a small test using max vdp1 resolution 512x224
No, and I won't. The VDP1 just isn't as good as the PS1's GPU, plus it has so many restrictions in high res, I'm not even interested in wasting time on this.
 

Ponut

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
34
Points
8
Age
24
VDP1, in general, has many restrictions.
High-res modes place even more restrictions, the most critical being that the frame-buffer becomes 8bpp rather than 16bpp which breaks the more "intelligent" texture mode.
 

luisoft

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2010
Messages
25
Points
1
Really Nice!!! Solid texture mapping with better textures and nice lightings. VDP1 support 128x128 textures? Maybe u can try use VDP2 scroll plane as a big wall and put a high texture resolution with no impact in frame rate like panzer dragon saga do in elevators scene. Your demo look better than many N64 texture map.
 

XL2

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Messages
183
Points
43
Age
34
Latest video showing collision detection tests.
It still has issues sadly, which will take a while to fix, perhaps even a full rewrite of the engine since BSP are tricky beasts (It's only been like the sixth time I restart with a new engine...).
Still all 64x64 textures, all gouraud shaded. The weapons are drawn by the VDP2.
 

XL2

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Messages
183
Points
43
Age
34
I will have to create another topic at one point as it's not related to the subject at all.

AI, some animations and unlocked framerate test. Also note the advertisement for SegaXtreme in the intro :
 
Last edited:

vexatious

New Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2013
Messages
17
Points
3
Noticed 2d content doesn't light. Is that optionally enabled? What about using extension RAM cartridge; is that straight forward? Great job!
 

XL2

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Messages
183
Points
43
Age
34
Noticed 2d content doesn't light. Is that optionally enabled? What about using extension RAM cartridge; is that straight forward? Great job!
If you mean the weapons, I don't light them for now, but I might switch to 3d weapons in the future. As for the RAM cartridge, it would be useless for me.
 

vexatious

New Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2013
Messages
17
Points
3
Is there a problem with hobbyists using this toolkit? Wouldn't mind trying "Resident Evil 2" crossover with this and extension ram cart. If this is free to use, do you take donations? Does this work with Visual Studio 2006? Linux?

Thanks.
 
Top