Saturn VGA Box?

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

Kamalot

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2001
Messages
22
Points
1
Website
www.planetpso.com
I run all my DC games through a DC VGA Box. I don't even have a real TV. Right now I play my Saturn through the TV card on my PC.

Is it possible to modify a Dreamcast VGA Box for use with a Sega Saturn?
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
39
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
no.

dreamcast already outputs the correct format for VGA.. 31 khz horizontal refresh rate. normal tv's 15 khz, and saturn just can't output it. you'd need an upscan converter.. cheap ones are blurry and ugly, the good ones are 200$+.
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
37
Actually, I think VDP2 can output VGA, but I doubt most of the games are coded to set it up that way. Some Dreamcast games have the same problem.
 

Fabrizo

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2001
Messages
992
Points
16
Age
35
Website
Visit site
Well, if you can't get a VGA box for saturn, I would think a s-video cable should suffice. I don't personaly have one, but from what I hear they improve the quality quite considerably.
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
39
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
if you want to go good quality, you'll have to go RGB.. most TVs in europe support it, most amiga monitors too. only very few in US, unfortunately.
 

MasterAkumaMatata

Staff member
Joined
Apr 18, 2001
Messages
3,300
Points
36
Location
Akuma Island
Website
superakuma5k.homestead.com
Quote: from Arakon on 3:59 pm on Oct. 11, 2001

no.

dreamcast already outputs the correct format for VGA.. 31 khz horizontal refresh rate. normal tv's 15 khz, and saturn just can't output it. you'd need an upscan converter.. cheap ones are blurry and ugly, the good ones are 200$+.
Hey Arakon, how would your rate the reception quality of the cheap, blurry ones on a regular computer monitor against regular composite cables on a regular TV? Better or worse, or about the same?
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
39
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
the output signal can never be much better than the input signal.. if you input composite, you get about or slightly better than composite quality.. s-video is much better, and of course, if you have a way, inputting RGB will result in a very good image, quality-wise. most expensive boxes support RGB-in, and most videogame systems output RGB on the av port, so that is a definite advantage.
 

Fabrizo

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2001
Messages
992
Points
16
Age
35
Website
Visit site
Do you think s-video is worth owning? I use a normal cable connection for my sat, but I hear lots of good things about the s-video. Is it realy all that much better?
 

Fabrizo

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2001
Messages
992
Points
16
Age
35
Website
Visit site
Hmmm, mabye ill pick one up from the sega store, do you know if they are new if I buy them from their?
 

Shaneus

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2001
Messages
128
Points
16
Ara: can u get a SCART -> RCA converter?

surely that would be pretty good quality...
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
39
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
I actually have a RGB->RCA (composite) converter, and the quality is way below a direct composite output. it's a very cheap one, and it clearly shows. again it's a matter of the parts used.
 
Top