how use the boot disk for cd r ?

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

Mazinkaiser

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
13
Points
1
Website
Visit site
hi

first excuse for my english but i'm a italian boy and my english is some bad -_-'

now...

i'm find the boot disk image on one ftp server... now i don't remember the name of server... burn it with clone cd.... all is okay.

........................and now ?_?

how use it for play cdr on my saturn (first model for information) ?
 

Cloud121

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
3,461
Points
36
Website
www.geocities.com
the boot disc doesn't boot CD-Rs. only a mod-chip can do that. Plus, if you read the Misc. section, you can read many FAQs on how to do the swap trick on your Saturn. (Yes, there is a Model 1 FAQ)
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
40
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
plus, since the bootcd is a cdr itself, you need to swap or buy a modchip to get it to work at all. it's worthless and useless for non-developers.
 

Mazinkaiser

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
13
Points
1
Website
Visit site
oh... good, i read the misc zone and the relative faqs but i'm not sure for the swap trick.... this is some danger for the saturn's led...

if anyone use the swap trick plz tell me EXACTLY moment to swap, i'm not sure if base only on the faqs.
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
40
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
the timing differs between different saturn models, you'll have to figure it out yourself. and the swap does NOT harm the motor or laser in any ways on saturn. that's PSX that died from swapping.
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
38
I don't remember how the FAQs explain when to swap, but it helped me somewhat to understand what's going on when the Saturn boots. To put it simply, there are three tasks that it must do to boot the CD. Checking the copy protection is the second task, and is the only one that needs the original CD in the drive (this means that there are two swaps needed - one swap before the copy check and one swap after). Here's a general guide:

1) Put in the CD-R and turn on the system.

2) Wait for the Saturn logo screen to assemble. During this time the Saturn reads the TOC from the CD-R (task 1). If you have a Saturn with access light you can tell when it's done doing this, but it will almost always be done by the time the Saturn logo screen is complete unless the CD is dirty or damaged.

3) When the Saturn logo screen is complete, take out the CD-R and put in an original Saturn disc.

4) Now the Saturn will check for the ring that is on the edge of all official Saturn discs (task 2). You should be able to hear the laser make a big movement right now, because it is going all the way from one end of the CD to the other. After the laser has moved, the access light will blink a few times as it reads the ring. Once the Saturn sees the ring, it is ready to return to the start of the disc and load the boot program (task 3). The laser will make another big movement - when you hear this movement, take out the original disc and put the CD-R back in. Now the Saturn will load the boot program from the CD-R and start the game.

Note: if you get the error message "Dischetto giocho incompatible col sistema" (this may not be completely correct, the message wasn't displayed long enough for me to type it) then you need to use the Saturn Country Code tool (in the misc section) to change the disc image. It won't work on CloneCD files, but you can use EZCD Pro, also in the misc. section, to read the disc you already have into a standard file. You can also get a cartridge that will bypass the country check.
 

Mazinkaiser

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
13
Points
1
Website
Visit site
i have the model 1 (the model with oval power & reset)

one questions, how is the time to swap the cdr -> cd original -> cdr ? in the faqs specific change the cd when the led is off ...........but for me this is not clear...

Made happy ignorance -=_=-'
 

Mazinkaiser

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
13
Points
1
Website
Visit site
wow when i reply ExCyber beat me in velocity.... therefore... firts thk a lot guys ^_^ thks for help me... but now i'm quite tired (in my city now the time is 1:53) now go to sleep... tomorrow i try and report you the result

cya
 

Mazinkaiser

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
13
Points
1
Website
Visit site
oh... ultimate question for "today"

Ex if you use the swap trick can tell me haw time have to swap in two point of swap?
 

gofamon

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2001
Messages
92
Points
6
Try swapping without the cover of the saturn first. You have a fair amount of time to swap. I've been swapping on my model 1 for a while and I'd say you have a solid 4+ seconds to do the swap. And once you get it down you should be able to swap with the cover on.
 

Supergrom

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2001
Messages
1,488
Points
36
Age
33
Website
Visit site
i have a model one, and i got the swap down with the cover on in about 10 minutes. You just have to familiarize yourself with the read light. i havent had a problem swapping at all since the first few times i tried, and my saturn (which I got used) is still going strong.
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
38
I do the swap pretty quickly, but I think Gofamon is about right; I know at least once I've accidentally dropped the disc and had enough time to (quickly) pick it up and put it in.
 

IceDigger

Founder
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2001
Messages
5,516
Points
38
Age
40
Location
USA
Website
www.segaxtreme.net
model 1 swapping is extremely easy. turn on with cdr. wait till the light stops flashing, and swap about half a sec later (short delay after it stops). after reading the original protection, the LED will flash 3x fast.. swap right after that for the second time, and it'll boot. don't forget to tape down the door switch.
 

Mazinkaiser

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
13
Points
1
Website
Visit site
uhm i have som problem -_-'

i try the swap but never successful...

1) i start the saturn with cdr in... when the saturn logo is complete and the LED stops the lights i stop the motion of cd with some strength and change with original cd (tomb raider)

2) now the saturn laser spin of the end of cd... and (i think) read the regional code and some later spin near the inside the cd at this point i look the LED lights 2 or 3 time faster of when i have ignited the console

3) in this moment the consolescreen is on the Sega logo.... is vanished and the screen remains black and remains black........ and remains black -_-'

Someone can help me?

plz =_=''
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
38
I think this means that either:

- The burn is bad

- You're waiting too long to start the second swap

Hope this helps.
 

Mazinkaiser

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
13
Points
1
Website
Visit site
ugh i'm a beast =_=''

in before post i forgot to write... in the middle of 2 -> 3 points i change the cd for the second time

...uhm in the evening i try for different cdr with different game for controll

in any case thk for help
 

Mazinkaiser

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
13
Points
1
Website
Visit site
i ri ri ri try....

but always not succesful -_____-''''

tomorrow i can try with different disc, but the second swap (cd original -> cd r) excatly when i make this?

i see the LED flash 3 times faster but later the second times.... the led... flash one "long" lights ...it turns out to you also to you? i do swap before or later this flash?
 

ExCyber

Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
4,014
Points
36
Age
38
That's right... the Model 2 case has circular buttons, and no access light.
 
Top