Pseudo Saturn Kai official thread

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

mistamontiel

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Messages
22
Points
3
Age
30
Location
Miami, FL, CUBA
Website
www.youtube.com
Dawh damn! Re-read the whole post sorry man!! I'll buy your gamer cartridge yet as I don't like to yoke out swap out Action Replays to backup saves for certain!

My mom's caught a rare one think it was 1% to develop it? Doing the chemo weak as chit same survival rate in the five years from now

Cheering for you friend!!

EDIT: Tomb Raider not compatible with cheats, any do nothing, firmware v6.274
 
Last edited:

kitty666cats

New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2019
Messages
15
Points
3
Age
31
@kitty666cats got Grandia to work on an all-in-one cart with backup memory after doing a potentiometer adjustment. I know that this doesn't explain why Grandia works for you on the cart without backup memory and not the other, but it is worth mentioning nonetheless.

[Reddit] https://old.reddit.com/r/SegaSaturn/comments/dki48s/problems_with_magic_knight_rayearth_and_resident/f4uggbt/
I'd bet a pretty penny the other cart probably has different pins, either a different amount or layout. You'll notice a lot of the eBay carts have less pins than the classic ol' Action Replay Plus. Never seen one of the cheaper carts with less features in person, I went for the $41 USD one with in-game cartridge saves and it worked great with literally everything I threw at it! Up until Grandia.

Same deal on THREE different consoles! A little tiny bit of tightening, only about 45 degrees at a time between testing the game's funcionality. I had no problems with some of the more finicky titles like Dragon Force and Magic Knight Rayearth on all the consoles, it's really only Grandia that gave me shit. I mean, the pot has definitely got to slowly come loose over the years, only makes sense right? So yeah, I really think Grandia is a good benchmark for ensuring wide compatibility with Pseudo Saturn burns :3
 

privateye

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
22
Points
13
Thanks for the information @kitty666cats :)


EDIT: Tomb Raider not compatible with cheats, any do nothing, firmware v6.274
I have tested cheats with the EUR/USA/JPN versions of Tomb Raider and non of them work as you indicated. There are over 2200 cheats in Pseudo Saturn Kai and these have (quite understandably) not all been tested, and therefore it is not unusual to find cheats that don't work.
 

mistamontiel

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Messages
22
Points
3
Age
30
Location
Miami, FL, CUBA
Website
www.youtube.com
Jus wrote new v6.324 Lite to my Action Replay 4M+ from disc. I thought the battery save backup was back?

Sorry I misinterpret! You rock!

EDIT: Also sure you've seen GameHacking Tomb Raider Saturn ? Some reason I don't remember master code in the last firmware

EDIT 2: 0mG!!! Just checked out Stellar Assault. wtf, Interlaced what like 240i? Is a feature? Uhhh I thought i is the devil!

Also, I passed the first mission.. but it says Trace Play or Save.. Save is not selectable it is greyed-out ={ When I select Trace Play which still don't know what means it loads back the same screen

EDIT 3: Die Hard Trilogy PAL the same problem gets to FMV and skips+hangs there ={ Does the Japanese version have English
 
Last edited:

TeslaFC

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2020
Messages
1
Points
1
Age
29
Hi All

Newb here, hope this is the right place...

When attempting to put the psuedo kai cd-r into saturn, the saturn always just gets stuck on it's boot screen (where all the metallic pieces are starting to show, before they all join up), so i cant get to the point of attempting the swap trick. Anyone got any solutions for this?

Thanks
 

Barley

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2020
Messages
1
Points
1
Age
30
Hey there, just installed Kai Lite (latest version) to my Action Replay and have a few questions.

1. Do I need to leave the tape on the CD tray switch once the flashing is complete? That was just for the swap trick I'm assuming?

2. Just tested out a game on a Taiyo Yuden CD-R, but about 10-15 minutes into the game and it rebooted the console back to the Saturn screen. Started playing again, happened again within a minute this time. Also checked the compatibility list for that game and it showed as fine. Any ideas?
 
Last edited:

RazorX

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2020
Messages
22
Points
3
Age
35
Location
United Kingdom
Hey there, just installed Kai Lite (latest version) to my Action Replay and have a few questions.

1. Do I need to leave the tape on the CD tray switch once the flashing is complete? That was just for the swap trick I'm assuming?

2. Just tested out a game on a Taiyo Yuden CD-R, but about 10-15 minutes into the game and it rebooted the console back to the Saturn screen. Started playing again, happened again within a minute this time. Also checked the compatibility list for that game and it showed as fine. Any ideas?
it was just to initially boot the cd-r, as for the other question i don't know.
i would try it again with the tape removed.
 

RazorX

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2020
Messages
22
Points
3
Age
35
Location
United Kingdom

@ 1:54, can I really swap once Pseudo starts? Using the Action Replay 4M+ on current Pseudo
you could try this mod i did:
<Action Replay 4M Plus Dual Boot Mod >
this will let you add a switch to the action replay 4m plus so you can run the default action replay firmware and with a flick of the switch be able to boot into pseudo saturn kai so it basically becomes a two in one card and saves you buying a second cartridge.
 

Turbotosti

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2020
Messages
4
Points
3
Age
28
Hi, new member here.
I'm not sure if I should be posting it here but I tried flashing my action replay cartridge today and ran into an issue.
After about 15 tries of disk swapping madness and almost giving up I managed to get the pskai_sdm_flasher.cue to run on my japanese Saturn.
For some strange reason however it didn't have an option to flash my cartridge. Does anyone know what I'm missing?
 

Attachments

RazorX

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2020
Messages
22
Points
3
Age
35
Location
United Kingdom
Hi, new member here.
I'm not sure if I should be posting it here but I tried flashing my action replay cartridge today and ran into an issue.
After about 15 tries of disk swapping madness and almost giving up I managed to get the pskai_sdm_flasher.cue to run on my japanese Saturn.
For some strange reason however it didn't have an option to flash my cartridge. Does anyone know what I'm missing?
Hit the R trigger
 

RazorX

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2020
Messages
22
Points
3
Age
35
Location
United Kingdom
The earlier attached image shows 2 screens. hitting the r (or l) trigger shows the second screen.
stupid question, do you have the action replay 4m plus plugged in correctly?
under 'Start Homebrew' you should see 'Firmware Flasher'
i don't know if it doesn't show up if the action replay isn't detected though so it may be you've burnt the wrong image or an older image.

here's the download:

simple burn the pskai_sdm_flasher.iso and boot it on the saturn and then hit the R trigger and you should see 'Firmware Flasher'
click it then choose pseudo saturn kai lite.

this is an old video but it may help you:
 
Last edited:
Top