Translating Grandia

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

ginoscope10

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
1
Points
1
Age
43
Just wanted to come on here and register and say thanks for working on this translation. Last night I was able to get the game running on my Japanese launch Saturn with a Rhea installed. I just got to play the intro but so far I have not noticed any bugs. I will be glad to report any bugs that I find. I'm amazed how great it works thus far.

I'm using the latest patch from github (v0.59).
 

Vincent

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2019
Messages
2
Points
1
Age
39
It's amazing how fast this game was translated. The Lunar and Princess Crown translations on the other hand, are pretty much dead in the water.
 

msimplay

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Messages
89
Points
8
It's amazing how fast this game was translated. The Lunar and Princess Crown translations on the other hand, are pretty much dead in the water.
The translation is still getting bug fixed for cd1 as far as I know cd2 would be next
 
Joined
May 12, 2007
Messages
211
Points
43
The translation is still getting bug fixed for cd1 as far as I know cd2 would be next
I'll post more tomorrow, but here's a quick tease:


It's amazing how fast this game was translated. The Lunar and Princess Crown translations on the other hand, are pretty much dead in the water.
I can't speak for Princess Crown but I can assure you that the Lunar Translation is not dead in the water as I've been working with them on trying to figure a few things out. MsTea just doesn't post as many status updates as I do and I don't think they're going the route I took of using the community to Beta Test.

I'll let them give their own updates but last I heard the Cinepak version was going smoothly, but they hit a snag with the MPEG version as most modern MPEG encoders weren't generating strict White-Book Compliant MPEG files.
 
Last edited:

Ms. Tea

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
42
Points
18
Age
34
It's amazing how fast this game was translated. The Lunar and Princess Crown translations on the other hand, are pretty much dead in the water.
The Lunar translation is not dead. I posted my most recent update maybe two months ago! I understand people want to play but I wish there could be some understanding that life stuff happens.
 

Ardiloso

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
41
Points
8
Age
38
The Lunar translation is not dead. I posted my most recent update maybe two months ago! I understand people want to play but I wish there could be some understanding that life stuff happens.
Don't worry about it. Just do it at your own pace. You and Trekkies are my hero. :)
 
Joined
May 12, 2007
Messages
211
Points
43
So here's a more indepth update on where things stand. While I'm still working on Disc 1, Disc 2 shares a lot of common files so getting it going didn't take much effort. The hardest part was that the Weapon and Enemy data is a bit different on Disc 2. So I had to redo it. With that done the tools I already made for Disc 1 worked fine for Disc 2:





While I was at it, I also took the opportunity to translate all of the error messages in the game:



With that out of the way, this is what remains to be done on each disc.

Disc 1:
  • Continue to fix Voice Synchronization Issues
  • Fix any more bugs that get reported
Disc 2:
  • Beta Test for possible crashes, glitches, and bugs
  • Translate Map Screens
  • Fix Voice Synchronization
Technical issues that still need to be figured out on Both Discs:
  • Compression for compressed tile data in Battle Menu and Results screen.
  • Cause for text alignment issues for "Your Initiative" and "Ambushed"
  • FMV Decoding/Encoding so Subtitles can be added.
Nice things to have on both discs:
  • Figure out how to add text to voiced portions that are voice only.
  • Touch up the Translation (Change coffee references for Original Alcohol References, etc.)
  • Fix Feena's Time Gate bug (Still need to figure out what the root cause for this is.)
  • Possibly replace the "This is a Sega Saturn disc" track for an English version.
I'll probably have a beta patch ready for Disc 2 sometime soon once I have done some playtesting for any major issues right out of the gate.
 
Last edited:

Ardiloso

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
41
Points
8
Age
38
I hope you figure out the FMV encoding because Grandia HD is releasing soon on Steam and have much higher quality videos (the ones on both saturn and playstation are super low quality), which would be a good source to encode new ones. :)
 
Joined
May 12, 2007
Messages
211
Points
43
Ok guys, I have the map screens translated for Disc 2:



And I've done a little spot checking with Digital Museum Saves and things seem to be behaving well so far:




So I think with that we can start beta testing disc 2. Attached is Patch version 0.50 for Disc 2. Same patching methods are used. As with Disc 1, please report any bugs, crashes, or other issues you encounter in this thread.

I've also put up a new patch for Disc 1 that brings it up to version 0.60. This brings over a lot of the new features of Disc 2 such as translated error messages. Since it can be completed I'd like to say 0.60 indicates a playable release, but lacks polish such as what the remaining issues are.

My general idea for versioning will be as follows:

0.50 - The game is technically playable but not able to be completed due to crashes and bugs.
0.60 - Major crashes and issues are resolved and the game can be completed. However it still lacks polish.
0.70, 0.80, and 0.90 - More polish has been completed. I'm reserving these for milestones such as all voices are synchronized, compressed graphics are translated, FMVs have subtitles, etc.
1.0 - What remaining issues are polished out. So problems with text alignment, etc.

Any nice to haves that get accomplished before 1.0 will be integrated into one of those releases. If they come after 1.0 it will be an update like a 1.1.
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
46
Points
8
Age
35
Great work on the first disc the project has come along way in a short time due to your hard work and dedication. Looking forward to starting to beta test disc 2 later today and reporting any issues I spot to you. Keep up the excellent work and Thank you .
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
46
Points
8
Age
35
Hey, I am in section 3 of the Virgin forest and just met rapp ( about 15min into disc 2). He hears his friend nicky being attacked and runs to help but the game seems to freeze when you gain control back of Justin and I can't move. I have played upto this point three times and it's done the same on all three goes. I can show you footage if you want? Hope this helps and thank you.
 
Joined
May 12, 2007
Messages
211
Points
43
Hey, I am in section 3 of the Virgin forest and just met rapp ( about 15min into disc 2). He hears his friend nicky being attacked and runs to help but the game seems to freeze when you gain control back of Justin and I can't move. I have played upto this point three times and it's done the same on all three goes. I can show you footage if you want? Hope this helps and thank you.
Ok, I can take a look at it when I get home. If you can provide a screenshot of the usual Debug mode screens that would be great. That's what I get for just spot checking with Digital Museum saves.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
46
Points
8
Age
35
Ok, I can take a look at it when I get home. If you can provide a screenshot of the usual Debug mode screens that would be great. That's what I get for just spot checking with Digital Museum saves.
Yes i will put up the screen shots from debug mode but they will just be from the point it happens as there is no save point between the start and the point this happens. Will upload them in a moment.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
46
Points
8
Age
35
actually there is a save point between the start of the game and the point this happens I have found, which is a couple of minutes before this happens. now its not a conventional save point, you talk to guido and he offers to let you save or recover for a fee of 10g. i presume this is the same as a normal save point when it comes to debugging. so i will give you the screen shots for at this save point. if you need any screen shots of the actual point it happens let me know and i will put them up, thank you.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 12, 2007
Messages
211
Points
43
Ok, I was able to reproduce it. From the looks of it I'm guessing it's similar to the issue with the end of the Twin Towers where the game froze after Leen left.

I'll see what I can do.
 
Joined
May 12, 2007
Messages
211
Points
43
Ok, I think I have that issue fixed. I've made a version 0.50.1 patch for the fix as there's a few other things I noticed that while not game breaking, are irritating to me none the less. Mostly it has to do with formatting for Save file names on the save screen.

Let me know if anything else goes wrong.
 

Attachments

Ardiloso

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
41
Points
8
Age
38
I've came across a new bug (disc 1). In Luc Village, the save and menu screens now have some weird artifacts, shadows-like, on the left side:


I'm now at the End of the World and the shadows
are still showing.
 
Joined
May 12, 2007
Messages
211
Points
43
I've came across a new bug (disc 1). In Luc Village, the save and menu screens now have some weird artifacts, shadows-like, on the left side:


I'm now at the End of the World and the shadows
are still showing.
I don't have a save file around there so I'll need some time to get one there. But in the meantime can you try loading those saves up with an unpatched Japanese disc and see how it behaves? I've seen stuff like that happen before in Debug mode, but never in the normal mode of the game.
 
Top