Screeen resolution hacks

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL VERTIFORO SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

paul_met

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
97
Points
8
Age
35
Location
Belarus
Website
meduza-team.ucoz.net
Widescreen for Grandia [J]
Travel mode (only)
Code:
16082E4C 0000
16082E4E E0A8
--------------------------------
Battle mode (only)
Code:
1602F308 0000
1602F30A E0A8
1602F620 0000
1602F622 E0A8
1602F7C4 0000
1602F7C6 E0A8
16030458 0000
1603045A E0A8
--------------------------------
All patches can be found on the link in my signature.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

paul_met

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
97
Points
8
Age
35
Location
Belarus
Website
meduza-team.ucoz.net
Story of Thor 2 / Legend of Oasis - Half Hi-Res mode (352x512i). Working on mednafen and others. Need to testing more.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

vbt

Staff member
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
5,225
Points
63
Age
43
only best games :) both deserve a translation
 

vbt

Staff member
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
5,225
Points
63
Age
43
only Norse by Norsewest missing, even guests see your pictures :

4783
 

Ardiloso

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
40
Points
8
Age
38
Hi @paul_met
The Grandia patch acts strange. When you pick an item in the field or dungeon, the game will revert back to 4:3 after the item management screen. But if you enter the menus and go back, the 16:9 ratio will be restored.
I'm using your hack with the translated patch on disc 1, running on real hardware (burned CDR).
 

paul_met

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
97
Points
8
Age
35
Location
Belarus
Website
meduza-team.ucoz.net
Hi @paul_met
The Grandia patch acts strange. When you pick an item in the field or dungeon, the game will revert back to 4:3 after the item management screen. But if you enter the menus and go back, the 16:9 ratio will be restored.
I'm using your hack with the translated patch on disc 1, running on real hardware (burned CDR).
Can you give me a savestate for Yabause to check this issue?
 
Joined
May 12, 2007
Messages
206
Points
43
Can you give me a savestate for Yabause to check this issue?
The Item Management screen is controlled by ITGET.BIN. Looking at the patch it looks like that file wasn't modified. I'm guessing the patch just needs to be expanded to include that file as well.
 

Ardiloso

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
40
Points
8
Age
38
Can you give me a savestate for Yabause to check this issue?
It's hard because I don't do saturn emulation, will have to set it up and play a good hour. But Trekkies gave a good tip above, maybe that's the issue?
 

Ardiloso

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
40
Points
8
Age
38
Then at least a screenshot, so that I understand what exactly are you talking about.
Hi. Here's a video. Notice the widescreen disabled after I pick up the item and enabled after I enter and exit the inventary menu. This happens every time.
 

paul_met

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
97
Points
8
Age
35
Location
Belarus
Website
meduza-team.ucoz.net
I see. The matter was really in the file "ITGET.BIN". To fix this bug with changing the aspect ratio after receiving the item, you need to go to the address 0x3D64 and replace the four bytes with "0000E0A8".
 

Ardiloso

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
40
Points
8
Age
38
I see. The matter was really in the file "ITGET.BIN". To fix this bug with changing the aspect ratio after receiving the item, you need to go to the address 0x3D64 and replace the four bytes with "0000E0A8".
Thank you, but I expected you to update your patch. :-/
 

Ardiloso

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
40
Points
8
Age
38
:)
@paul_met I apreciate the patch update. Works fine now. I have another thing to report (forgot to talk about it earlier).
Sometimes when you start a battle, there's some glitched lines on the sides of the battle screen when it's zoomed out. I know the battle backgroud is 4:3 ratio and it is forcing it to show something that shouldn't. If this can't be fixed, maybe it will be better to have the battles 4:3 fixed?
Here's a video. There are two battles in it, in the first one you can see the lines and in the second one, can not. It all random and happens in the entire game.
 
Last edited:

paul_met

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
97
Points
8
Age
35
Location
Belarus
Website
meduza-team.ucoz.net
The size of the arena is not enough to fill the wide screen. Color lines on the sides I see for the first time. Perhaps this is the behavior of the game on the console. If you want to keep the aspect ratio of 4: 3 in the battle, then you should replace the modified "BATLE.BIN" file with the original one.
 
Top